Need help on next guitar, thank you! - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 11-02-2006, 04:12 AM Thread Starter

Need help on next guitar, thank you!

hello everyone! I am new to this wonderful community and i was wondering if i could possibly get some recommendations for my next guitar (forgive me if im posting in the wrong section haha).

I play anywhere from ska to prog, my favorite bands/influences go from Rush, Supertramp, Yes, The Mars Volta, Dream Theater, Opeth, and so on so i was in pursuit of a pretty versatile instrument.

Before i started to stumble on the Ibanez models, I had my mind pretty much set on an ESP Edwards Jimmy Page LP Relic with custom wiring (coil tap, phase, series/parallel) because of its incredible tonal versatility and feel according to the people that own it from various forums. I would be able to get this for roughly 9-1000 USD shipped so that is my price range.

And then i stumbled onto the RG2550 and 2570 from a link my friend sent to me and i said to myself, damn, these look incredibly amazing haha, so i started to look into them more and people said they are pretty versatile so I am now kind of stuck in a pickle haha, but i am open to other suggestions/models . Thanks so much and have a pleasant day!

ps: oh i have had hands on with the Edwards, but unfortunately my local guitar shops dont carry any of the higher end prestige/ RGs so i cant get my hands on them to try unless they do a special order, where i would needs to pay haha!

Last edited by foolie; 11-02-2006 at 04:15 AM. Reason: forgot segment
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 11-02-2006, 05:17 AM

Re: Need help on next guitar, thank you!

if you want real tonal versatility in an RG, check out one of the piezo equipped models.