Need a new sustain block for Edge Pro 7 - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-14-2008, 12:32 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Need a new sustain block for Edge Pro 7

I just picked up a 2077XL for a nice price but the sustain block on it is stripped out. It will wobble back and forth now, so you can't get the trem parallel because it starts to bend under the strain. So basically, the thing is screwed as is and needs replaced. I'm going to try some cheap fixes to fix the holes but I don't expect them to work or last very long.

Anyone have a spare, know where I could get one, etc.? I've tried ibanez rules and a big auction site already.
sakeido is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-14-2008, 09:24 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 56
Re: Need a new sustain block for Edge Pro 7

You can't get them new. If you want it new the only solution is to buy the whole new bridge.

I had this problem with me first floyd guitar: some old beat up epiphone flying V. Sustain block was made of some sort crappy cast iron, and it crumbled to pieces. I took the remains of it to some metal fabricators. They CNC machined me an exact copy of it from a solid lump of automotive grade steel and anodized it in black. With the new sustain block guitar sounded better then ever. And tuning stability improoved as well. The only worry I had was, I didn't order them to use brass instead of steel. Might have sounded even better.
plyta is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-26-2008, 09:53 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 12
Re: Need a new sustain block for Edge Pro 7

do you have a picture of the block? i might be able to help you out. i have a few custom aircraft aluminum blocks but for the edge 6 string tremolo. im also waiting for a batch made out of brass. i might be able to get one machined for you for 7 string. let me know!
thunder7 is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-26-2008, 11:00 PM
Moderator
 
Ayrton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 4,209
Re: Need a new sustain block for Edge Pro 7

Steel will be brighter vs brass being warmer. Simply a matter of taste.
Ayrton is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB/WTT: Cosmo EDGE Pro wanted, can offer cosmo original EDGE with HS block for trade gitarrero Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 1 04-01-2008 07:51 AM
edge susting block... Devon8822 Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 5 12-06-2007 06:31 PM
For Trade: 31mm Edge spring block for 41mm block mtxsho93 Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 04-02-2007 05:29 PM
how to block the edge pro evil_k666 All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 6 05-02-2005 01:09 PM
best way to block edge trem stratman219 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 02-07-2003 06:42 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome