New guy to Ibanez, where to start? - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-23-2015, 10:03 AM Thread Starter

New guy to Ibanez, where to start?

Hi everyone, I've been a Fender guy since the 1990's, and most of that was with a Stratocaster. I have a Tele now, but want to get "into" Ibanez guitars. I'm trying to break out of the blues noodling I've been doing for the last 20 years and approach the guitar in a new way (for me). No, a new guitar isn't necessary to do this, but who here would fault me for that?

I plan to buy a "project guitar" and bring it to its full glory if I can find the right candidate. I may even build a mahogany body, as I think I may have some suitable wood soon. If I'm able to do that, I'll still need the neck and the rest. I understand that the Japanese made models are typically better made, or that quality control may be better. Aside from that, if you were looking for a suitable project guitar, what years, models, and places of manufacture would you consider best? Hardware, pickups, tuners, etc can all easily be upgraded, I'm mostly interested in finding a decent neck, body, and bridge. I have very little experience with floating trems, so I have no bias for or against one style versus another (ZR, Floyd Rose, etc). I know I don't want a traditional Fender style bridge. I'm really just a hobbyist and couch player, but want something that's solid and stays in tune. I really like the thin profile of the "S" series, and the contours of the JS models more than the RG series, but really any one would meet my needs/ desires.

Thanks for any and all input!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-23-2015, 01:56 PM

Reviews: 5
Re: New guy to Ibanez, where to start?

Welcome