NGD: '99 RG7620 (The Ibanez I wanted when I got my first 7...) - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-01-2017, 09:06 PM Thread Starter

NGD: '99 RG7620 (The Ibanez I wanted when I got my first 7...)

I started playing 7-strings back in '99, right when the boom for these happened and the demand was huge for them. I had ordered one of these from a store, but wound up with it's hardtail counterpart - an RG7621 - instead. At the time, I didn't mind not having the trem, as I preferred the fixed bridge anyway. And oddly enough, very shortly after I sold this particular one, I wound up finding a killer deal on a really good shape '91 UV7BK Black & Green Universe. After many years - and too many guitars to keep count at this point - I have been wanting another Ibanez RG 7-string again, due to taking home a killer Premium RG920MQM in dead mint shape. After more than a decade of being an ESP/LTD die-hard, I have come back to the Ibanez stuff with a serious longing for the right RG7.

So after looking at the new RG7421's, and browsing Ebay, Craigslist & Reverb, the right one came to light. And it was an offer I couldn't pass up, especially for the price. I found this on my local Craigslist and jumped on it immediately after a prior deal for my RG920MQM and cash fell thru for a Prestige S5527 in Purple Doom Burst. The score: a '99 RG7620BK for $350!!!