NGD - BC Rich Gunslinger Retro - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-13-2010, 04:52 PM Thread Starter

Reviews: 15
NGD - BC Rich Gunslinger Retro

I started playing guitar around 1989. That makes the BC Rich Gunslinger Retro pretty much the awesome-est thing around at the moment. I couldn't resist :

It's made in Korea rather than the USA but all the right names are present and correct. An original Floyd Rose handles the whammy duties and DiMarzio supplied a Super Distortion humbucker. Just the one pickup, though; its the 80s, remember

In the 80s, the Very Metal Reversed Headstock was required by law on all guitars :

Grover kidney bean tuners do the job just fine :

Yellow guitar showdown. The BC loses the yellowness battle here. By comparison to the slightly faded 1989 Desert Yellow S540, the Gunslinger looks positively orange. Subjectively, it's a kind of NYC taxi yellow compared to the S540's neon insanity.

Is there any colour this thing doesn't look good in?

I love it. The raw maple neck is no super-skinny Wizard (think Wizard II with slightly more meat to it) but it feels soooo good, and the single pickup/single volume layout frees you up to get on with the playing.

The DiMarzio Super Distortion is warm enough to handle rhythms and leads without sounding out of place with either and the OFR does what it needs to. Yes, it's MIK but put your preconceptions to one side and you're left with an awesome rock guitar.

For a lot more rambling about the Gunslinger Retro, see my full Jemsite review : http://www.jemsite.com/compare-electric-guitars/BC-Rich-Gunslinger-Retro/reviews/
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-13-2010, 06:34 PM

Re: NGD - BC Rich Gunslinger Retro

effen righties...
post #3 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-13-2010, 06:40 PM