NGD: ET Guitars Australia - Custom 7 String - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 08-08-2012, 04:17 PM Thread Starter

NGD: ET Guitars Australia - Custom 7 String

Hey guys,

Bear with me, sorry if this is a bit of a long story. But this is my very first 7 string guitar. Also my first custom...many firsts with this guitar.

Here goes. Near the start of the year I came across Keith Merrow's Youtube channel, and then Ola Englund's. For some reason I had never heard people play guitar this way before. I've been playing guitar for 25 years, but had never heard any songs played in drop Bb on a 7, ever. Yep, I probably was living in a little bubble.

It wasn't until I had heard riffs and songs by these guys that I just had to get a 7 string. I wanted to learn their songs. I normally play Dream Theater/Vai/Metallica/Led Zep'esque style music (and write accordingly). The stuff I was hearing from Merrow was like a new candy that I'd never tasted before.

Anyway, it was at this stage that I started looking for a 7. I had 3 Ibanez's already, so I started looking there. But I'm a fixed bridge kinda guy (now) that hates boring colours and rosewood. So I found nothing there. Then I remembered a local luthier who I had ordered stuff from before. Only custom parts, but never a full guitar. I was shocked to see that he was producing actual guitars. Two caught my eye. The Katana, and the Tomahawk FX7.

Being on a budget I shot Ernie an email, and was surprised that he remembered me! It would've been 4 years ago that I last made contact with him. Immediately we got to talking, and before long I had ordered a custom guitar. My first.

A custom 7 string built by Ernie Taylor based on the ET Guitars FX7, but modified to my tastes.

Specs:
- Mahogany Body
- Maple neck - wenge strip