NGD: S540FM - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-01-2008, 05:09 PM Thread Starter
rdm

NGD: S540FM

I started a thread last week about purchasing this guitar, and it finally arrived today. I really don't know where to start.... All I can say is that I finally "get it" when it comes to some Ibanez guitars. Never was a fan, but picked up an RG4EX from GC a few months ago. I'm in a tribute band and wanted to get the sound and I couldn't find this particular S540.

Anyway...the RG is cool and needed some much needed new pups and I dropped in an OFR, and it's a much better guitar...but still not what I would consider a great guitar.

So my S540 arrives today and I just can't put it down. Now I see what the fuss is all about. I used to be a manager at Guitar Center (don't hate) and got to play many high-end guitars....from original '63 strats to $16k and $22k PRS private reserve guitars...and I'm not kidding when I say this is hands down the best guitar I've ever played. The neck is insane. I'm not even a shredder....and damn.

As soon as I got it I put on some new strings and right away after stretching them out, no tuning stability issues...unlike my RG where I'm still fighting it, even after putting on an OFR. I can't believe how goodit sounds acoustically with such a thin body.

Again...NOW I get what the big deal is about Ibanez guitars. I'll have to post some new pics tonight....but here's the guitar before it left for delivery. It's a player....with some dings and whatnot, but still a great guitar. A post had been replaced...so I might have that replaced soon. I'll also probably take it in for some fret work.....but I gotta put it down first...haha.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-01-2008, 05:13 PM

Re: NGD: S540FM