Is it normal to hear crackling noise from neck when diving w/trem bar - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-04-2006, 11:43 AM Thread Starter

Is it normal to hear crackling noise from neck when diving w/trem bar

Im new to Ibanez gtrs, and floating bridge, ive played fender strat
for years, i want a different setup for heavy metal etc. . Local music store
is selling a used Ibanez rg220b i played it for over 30min. great guitar very versatile,
but when you dive deep w/trem bar neck makes a crackling noise it sometimes untunes not always. Plays very good despite this problem . Also the action is a little high from the 12 fret to 26 fret Is the neck may just need tightning. Is this common. He is selling for $199.00
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-04-2006, 12:31 PM

Re: Is it normal to hear crackling noise from neck when diving w/trem bar

nope.... if you're paying $200 for an RG220 (which I've seen go for significantly less- check around), it should not be making a cracking sound! It's hard to tell what exactly is causing that sound (whether it's "amplified" when you're plugged in), but it sounds like the trem isn't exactly stable.
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-04-2006, 02:14 PM

Its not the trem its the neck pocket, he says so in the title, and in that case it's "normal" but should be fixed. We did a long thread on this years ago you might try searching. But basically you have to make a good clean and tight fit at the neck joint. Sometimes that means removing and reinserting the screws, tightening them hard, one guy used baby powder in there to eliminate the noise (although I don't think that eliminates the movement so you'd still go out of tune) anyway, it's common but should be remedied.