old school player. - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-23-2005, 01:02 PM Thread Starter

old school player.

Hi, i am a old school guitarist ,i came up with the old metallica and megadeth stuff. I have always played 6 strings but i find myself now liking the newer low tuned music, such as godsmack, disturbed, etc.Now to my question, i dont really like to tune my guitars down,i have never played a seven string before, if i get a seven string will i be able to play the lower tuned music without having to keep changing guitars to play in a different tunings?And also , will i be able to play the chords in a regular position instead of the dropped type of 1 finger chord? Thanks .. sorry for the long post.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-23-2005, 01:26 PM

Re: old school player.

Yeah, you can on both fronts - the top 6 strings are the same, and the only thing I can't do as easily on a 7 that I can do on a 6 is Hendrix-y thumb over the neck stuff (and even that's possible).

As far as tuning goes, standard tuning for a 7 is BEADGBE, so the interval distance between the four lowest strings on a 7 is the same as the four lowest strings on a 6, just down a fourth (the G and B screw things up, as they're a major third and not a major fourth apart in standard tuning). So, you can play the bottom four notes of any chord shape you'd play on the E string of a six on a seven without any problems. That's not enough for full open chords, but will cover powerchords and triads with ease. and, there are some movable 7-string chord forms, too, so it works out quite well.

Now might be a good time to check out www.sevenstring.org.

-D
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-23-2005, 01:38 PM