Out of tune - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-18-2012, 02:33 PM Thread Starter

Out of tune

Hi all, I have this RG750, but whenever I tune it, and the G-chord sounds perfect, I strike a C-chord or other and it's out of tune.
When I tune it in C its the other way around.

What does this mean??
Thx
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-18-2012, 02:36 PM
Banned

Reviews: 98
Re: Out of tune

Check your intonation.

post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-18-2012, 02:48 PM Thread Starter

I'm quite new to the technical part of guitars.
I do not have a tuning device, this makes it hard for me to check the intonation
correctly, doesn't it?
To the ear it sounds pretty much ok, but I know they're not.
What would your next step be, buy a tuning device?

Thx
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-18-2012, 03:14 PM

It could very well be your technique. How long have you been playing?
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-18-2012, 03:15 PM

Reviews: 11

I suggest having a pro look at it if you don't know much.
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-18-2012, 03:19 PM Thread Starter

@Musikron: Don't you think that if it was a technique issue, all the chords would be out of tune? :-D
That aside, I been playing for a few years, only on acoustic, so I'm pretty new with electric guitars.

And yeah, it might be best to have someone look at it who knows what he's talking about.

Thanks guys!
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-18-2012, 03:25 PM

Not at all, different chords require different shapes. Without PERFECT finger placement you will pull notes out of tune. An electric guitar has a much lighter action than an acoustic, so it is very likely you are fretting with a heavy hand.
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-18-2012, 03:28 PM Thread Starter