Problem with RG 370 DX - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-08-2005, 06:10 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ireland & LA
Posts: 416
Reviews: 5
Problem with RG 370 DX

Hello

I bought a Ibanez 370 DX recently

Everything in tip top shape but when I was changing the gauges of strings from 9s to 10s the tremolo could not handle it and pulled back all the saddles.

Is it possible to run a set of 10s?

Ho do I adjust the saddles and inotation of the guitar accurately.

Cheers
Wildchild
wildchild247 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-08-2005, 08:05 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rugby, UK
Posts: 2,361
Re: Problem with RG 370 DX

Check out the tech section at ibanezrules.com

You'll to adjust the trem springs to keep the bridge parallel to the body and intonation is just a pain in the @ss. But all is explained on the above site
markg5150 is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-08-2005, 08:41 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,469
Re: Problem with RG 370 DX

You shouldn't have to change the intonation at all if you're leaving it in standard tuning. I have 10s on my RG370DX and it took me about 30 minutes to get the trem level, but it wasn't really hard. The backplate gives you easy access to the springs so you just mess around with them (loosening them, then tightening, then tuning) until you get the trem set exactly where you want it.
lyconxero is offline  
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-08-2005, 09:25 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ireland & LA
Posts: 416
Reviews: 5
Re: Problem with RG 370 DX

could the springs be the fault??

they dont seem to have a strong pull on them.

the screws for tightening the trem are almost to the maxand it still doesn't work
wildchild247 is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-08-2005, 10:14 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,152
Re: Problem with RG 370 DX

then you can try adding 1 or 2 springs.
damo7v is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-08-2005, 10:58 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ireland & LA
Posts: 416
Reviews: 5
Re: Problem with RG 370 DX

I have three springs mounted on it, with them all aimed at the center like a claw shape.

It still doesnt do the job.
anybody else have tips on setting the inotation from scratch without any special tools.

I think thats my main problem after the tremolo kinda exploded on me.
lol.
I am running custom 9-46 on them now and trying to tune it but its a bitch.

I also noticed that the springs I got were gold ones, I read they are some hassle.

Does your RG 370 DX have gold or silver springs??

Thanks
Wildchild
wildchild247 is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-09-2005, 11:00 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,469
Re: Problem with RG 370 DX

My RG370DX has gold-looking springs, but I haven't had any problems with them. I did trem them a little bit though instead of adding more springs and that seemed to do the trick as far as allowing me to put 10s on the guitar.
lyconxero is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-10-2005, 08:42 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ireland & LA
Posts: 416
Reviews: 5
Re: Problem with RG 370 DX

What did you do to your springs??

How secure is adding extra springs into the screwholes??
wildchild247 is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-10-2005, 11:06 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,469
Re: Problem with RG 370 DX

When I was first trying to get the guitar to hold it's tuning with 10's I thought about adding another spring. But then I realized that it wasn't necessary because there's this little black piece that goes over the three springs and I would've had to take them off. Plus adding more springs will just make the trem feel tighter. So instead I just cut a little piece off of the springs and re-attached them and that did the trick. You can cut them with a strong enough wire cutter without a problem. Just make sure that you don't cut off but a little bit at a time AND that you can find extra strings in case you mess it up.
lyconxero is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-10-2005, 12:21 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ireland & LA
Posts: 416
Reviews: 5
Re: Problem with RG 370 DX

Can you buy stronger springs?

because my springs are over stretched and very loose.

Also I heard that the silver coloured ones are stronger.

Cheers on the tips
wildchild247 is offline  
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-11-2005, 09:30 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,469
Re: Problem with RG 370 DX

You can buy any kind of springs you want. Any guitar shop that does repair work should have some on hand.
lyconxero is offline  
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-15-2005, 10:25 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ireland & LA
Posts: 416
Reviews: 5
Re: Problem with RG 370 DX

The place where I live Ireland has none.

They offered me these midget ones that were for a childs toy or something.

Anyone know online I can get some.

Anyone heard of all parts.

Wildchild
wildchild247 is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-15-2005, 11:05 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,469
Re: Problem with RG 370 DX

http://www.stewmac.com/

They sell all kinds of parts.
lyconxero is offline  
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-22-2005, 06:59 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 212
Talking Re: Problem with RG 370 DX

hey man i put a set of 10's on my rg370 and all i had to do was screw in the metal bit on the back of the guitar where the springs are in further, make sure you loosen the strings before yuo do it put them like a step down or something and then tighten the back, it should work no problem, hey where in ireland you from?
jem_fanatic is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-30-2005, 08:32 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ireland & LA
Posts: 416
Reviews: 5
Re: Problem with RG 370 DX

problem fixed

I am running 4 springs now and I am not using 10s I am using custom gauge 9-46

thanks for the help guys

you really helped me.

i am from the deep south, scum hole of the south, Waterford boy, waaaaaaahhhh boy, degly dush dush techno techno, land of the nackers, I'll bust ya if ya don't give us a go of your shoes boy.

Sorry but I hate the scum in this town.

Where are you from??
wildchild247 is offline  
Reply

Tags
guitar shop , trem springs

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problem with PM's? evolvedmb Forum Announcements and Member Help 0 03-17-2008 06:30 AM
problem with EMG ZW set kral Pickups & wiring 1 09-02-2004 05:22 AM
Wierd Lo-Pro Edge 7 problem... big problem! Jupiter Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 5 06-11-2003 01:43 PM
UV777BK trem problem - I think it is a problem (shrug) Scoff X Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 5 09-21-2001 12:59 AM
Any problem setting up for BEADGB? - Any problem setting up Pudreaux Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 2 06-28-2001 02:56 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome