recessed edge pro bridge.. - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-21-2004, 03:51 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 18
recessed edge pro bridge..

Hi,

I know all you guys will think like "what the ****? recessed??".. I love making those steve vai stuff with my whammy bar, but fact is that altough Ive had my RG570 with a Edge bridge at a proffessional tech two times (yes two times, yes hes proffessional) it wont get or keep the tune..when I blocked that thing, it did... So on my next guitar I thought a recessed floyd would fit me better..

Ive seen recessed edge bridges on old artist guitars.. they seem pretty sweet.. but question is: are there any recessed edge pro bridges?
gn86 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-21-2004, 03:58 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 339
i always thought they were recessed. as apposed to the floyd on EVH's guitars being non-recessed ?
matt_cater is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-21-2004, 04:10 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 18
whoops.. what a mistake.. I (of course) mean non-recessed..
gn86 is offline  
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-21-2004, 04:20 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,215
I think what you really mean is "non-floating".

The recess isn't necessary to have full-floating trem operation... you can set up any trem guitar to float by shimming the neck up at the heel or by angling the neck cavity to get the strings up above the body.

However, some players like having their strings really close to the face of the guitar, so recessing the trem just allows the bridge to be sunken into the body of the guitar and allowing for zero neck angle relative to the body. If you like your strings that low, you pretty much have no choice but to recess the bridge.

So if you like the low string-to-body distance and having a trem, you'll either need a very shallow recess or just block the trem so it goes down only.
darren wilson is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-22-2004, 04:50 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Italia
Posts: 4,725
gn86,
you better get a fixed-bridge guitar.
nuno is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-22-2004, 12:58 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 18
hey.. Ive thought about it.. but.. I cant get used of not using the whammy bar since I use it alot..
gn86 is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-22-2004, 08:39 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,383
Click the pink and green banner at the top of this page and check out the "Tech" section, mainly look at #13 on the list of pages there . . .

Your problem isn't that it's floating, or recessed, it's going to be something totally unrelated.

Bad studs perhaps, dull knives, posts not locked maybe?

Loose nut? Strings not stretched properly?

The Edge, even with bad studs AND flat knives WILL hold tune when everything else is properly set up. The only problem in that case is when you pull up and release the bar it may come back a bit (or a lot) sharp, but a quick tap down and it will go back to "perfect" tune.

Check out Rich's site before you assume it's JUST because it's floating/recessed as that really isn't a cause of tuning problems.

Mic
MicJustMic is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-23-2004, 12:11 AM
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 306
tighten the studs

I would double check that the studs are tightened. Those tiny little hex screws inside the studs caused me headaches... until I knew they existed! Rich's tech setup led me to the light.
bachle7 is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-23-2004, 12:26 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,153
I've recently been experimenting with a fun little technique: if I bend a string while sustaining another, I just push lightly on the bridge (or point the bar towards the rear strap button and push it) at the same rate as the bend. I probably wouldn't attempt it on stage until I'm fully confident with it, but you would be amazed at how well it works, and if you use the bar to do it it looks REALLY cool.
Petie is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-30-2004, 10:33 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 52
Even Steve Vai uses a tremsetter (the Ibanez type). I put them in for a lot of customers & they say the guitar returns to pitch without fail. I prefer the full floating trem, but I think you should look into a new S model with the Zero Resistance Trem. It has a built in trem setter that really works well. The ball bearing pivots make for really smooth operation.
Dr_Guitar is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-31-2004, 07:07 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_Guitar
Even Steve Vai uses a tremsetter (the Ibanez type). I put them in for a lot of customers & they say the guitar returns to pitch without fail. I prefer the full floating trem, but I think you should look into a new S model with the Zero Resistance Trem. It has a built in trem setter that really works well. The ball bearing pivots make for really smooth operation.
sounds nice.. is it easy to tune? I mean.. do I have to go through all that ****ing bull**** just to change the tuning as I would on the usual thing?
gn86 is offline  
Reply

Tags
edge bridge , edge pro bridge , edge pro bridges , neck angle , steve vai , strap button , trem guitar , trem setter , zero resistance trem

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTT: my Gold Schaller FR bridge for your Black Lo Pro Edge or Edge bridge supergirl20_06 Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 2 08-05-2011 06:57 AM
Will an Edge trem fit on a guitar without a recessed cavity? dirkdiggler Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 5 11-08-2010 11:39 PM
LF: Ibanez Edge or Lo Pro Edge bridge in Cosmo Black supergirl20_06 Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 09-19-2010 11:02 AM
Recessed Edge wh15p3r Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 05-02-2008 01:02 AM
Non Recessed Edge Trem smc Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 6 07-11-2006 02:10 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome