Replacing ILT1 Bridge - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-19-2008, 03:25 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14
Replacing ILT1 Bridge

Hey guys, I've just got my new GRG 270 with the ILT1 bridge on it. And to be honest, it's absolute crap. Can you guys recommend me some good trems to replace it?

I was thinking about getting a Gotoh floyd rose since i heard that it can fit nicely into a ilt1 route. (Not sure if it's true or not)


Thanks a lot
JungleFender is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-21-2008, 05:35 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,198
Reviews: 120
Re: Replacing ILT1 Bridge

Get the gotoh Floyd Rose for sure! Fantastic trems. Even if it doesn't quite fit sand out the cavity edges a little, easy work. Also for sure pul out the old ILT1 posts and studs and put in the Goth ones, they are locking ones. Well worth doing even if you need to pay someone to do it if you can't yourself.
LonePhantom is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-22-2008, 06:29 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14
Re: Replacing ILT1 Bridge

thanks a lot for your reply
by the way, do you know any site that has a detail description about the Gotohs? can't seem to find any.... and also some tutorial on how to setup the trem, i'm kinda new to floating tremolos

Thanks
JungleFender is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-22-2008, 04:35 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,198
Reviews: 120
Re: Replacing ILT1 Bridge

Check out ibanezrules (banner at the top) for setup information.

With regards to specs I'm not entirely certain, it's pretty much Floyd Rose specs.
LonePhantom is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-23-2008, 12:31 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14
Re: Replacing ILT1 Bridge

Thanks again,

Oh and one more thing
I've read reviews about the Schaller FR, seems like it's pretty good too
If you were me which one would you choose?
JungleFender is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-23-2008, 05:00 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,198
Reviews: 120
Re: Replacing ILT1 Bridge

Gotoh, cheaper, comes with locking studs, and fantastic profile.
LonePhantom is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-23-2008, 08:19 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14
Re: Replacing ILT1 Bridge

Wow you're like the only one alive in this whole forum or what?! =)
JungleFender is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-26-2008, 05:54 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Singapore
Posts: 341
Reviews: 4
Re: Replacing ILT1 Bridge

U can fit in the gotoh nicely. I had an RG 270dx that came with the ILT1. I manage to just slot in the gotoh without any necessary routing. If u wanna change the locking studs, might be a bit more work tho but still, worth it to change.
faekildare is offline  
Reply

Tags
floyd rose , gotoh , grg270 , ibanez , ilt1

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing my Ibanez bridge rdm All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 24 04-09-2008 06:19 PM
Replacing the bridge of a RG 7321? NEED fixed bridge Mr.WizardNeck All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 9 03-07-2008 07:45 AM
replacing 7321 bridge to 7621 bridge possible? slash_88 All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 7 12-27-2007 10:55 PM
replacing a FAT 10 bridge with a Floyd irg7620 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 12-22-2007 07:02 PM
Replacing the bridge on an RG370DX artful_junkie Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 6 11-07-2004 08:43 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome