Restringing a EDge zero II - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 09-21-2012, 08:33 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Delaware
Posts: 17
Restringing a Edge zero II

I love my RG1xxv. But I sometimes find that as I restring the string pops out at the bridge. It just feels like there is not a lot of distance to push string in before you clamp it in saddle. I always turn saddle screw bit tighter on G B E , even though I usually do not do that as it is advised against with Floyd's. I am no noob I have been restringing Floyd's for years but very frustrating if you buy some more expensive strings to have one or two pop out lay as you restring.

I change one string at a time, I have not lifted the saddle blocks out to inspect and I keep the guitar clean. I cut about two inches above ball end and feed that into saddle block.

Any ideas or tips?
I always end up restringing the guitar and I just want a more robust string change technique to prevent this popping out of strings . This is occasional occurrence and very frustrating.

Thx guys


Thought,
I did not prop something under term to stop it moving, maybe as I replaced each string my trem moved hence string had tendency to pop out under stress of moving. Maybe I need to block the treor stop it from moving as I do the string change, I had nothing to stop trem moving as I replaced each string ...

Maybe it is that?

Last edited by macman70; 09-21-2012 at 09:55 PM. Reason: Thoughts
macman70 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 09-22-2012, 04:57 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 89
Re: Restringing a EDge zero II

Hi there,

You could always inspect the stop blocks and the route for it if there's any broken strings there or groove that prevents it from locking properly.

If everything looks alright, make sure you put the string to the bottom of the cavity and lock, tighten it hard! But don't velve it toghether

I usally only block the trem if I want to remove all the strings at once and clean the fretboard etc.

Otherwise I change the strings one and one, unblocked.

Hope this helps
Eskil is offline  
Reply

Tags
restring

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Restringing Help chrisrab5150 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 5 01-24-2012 03:37 PM
Restringing cityofdelusion All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 62 05-15-2009 05:28 PM
Restringing Tips klp2332 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 12-04-2005 09:55 AM
restringing problem mike2558 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 3 09-22-2005 04:55 PM
Mal-restringing Vai the god of Sound Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 4 07-12-2002 09:56 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome