RG 3120 Bridge Setup - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-30-2012, 06:36 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 60
RG 3120 Bridge Setup

Hey guys... I just got this new RG 3120 with a strange green color (it's a tw, but it's green! wicked)




So, anyways... there's a problem with it: the whammy bar won't higher the pitch over 3/4 of a tone! How do I set it up so that the whole bridge goes back? I explain with this pic:





Please Help! I really don't wanna return it... I really like it!

Thanks!

Cheers
Langeani is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-30-2012, 07:15 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: izmir
Posts: 407
Re: RG 3120 Bridge Setup

The block might be upgraded, can you share a picture?
mertay is offline  
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-30-2012, 07:26 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 60
Re: RG 3120 Bridge Setup

Hey man, thanks for the reply. here it is; it's not a great pic, if it's not good enough, tell me and i'll take a new one

Langeani is offline  
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-30-2012, 07:37 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 60
Re: RG 3120 Bridge Setup

update: just realized that on the low e it will go 1,5 tone, so the bridge height is different on each side... how much should it go? 1,5 tone is still not much, right?
Langeani is offline  
post #5 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-30-2012, 07:39 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: izmir
Posts: 407
Re: RG 3120 Bridge Setup

I checked http://www.floydupgrades.com/catalog...roducts_id=204 , yours seem to be not upgraded.

I checked my 3120 which has lo-pro tremolo, seems only difference is mine has a cut on wood where your trem touches...

Sorry couldn't help, probably someone will though. By the way just curious, what year is that guitar made? its the first 2 numbers behind the headstock. I agree color is interesting!
mertay is offline  
post #6 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-30-2012, 07:55 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 60
Re: RG 3120 Bridge Setup

Hey man, don't sweat it, thanks for stepping up.

It's a 2003 TW, but not blue... weird, huh? hehe

That's what I was thinking...maybe cut the wood a little inside, just so the block will go further...

thanks man!
Langeani is offline  
post #7 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-30-2012, 09:40 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 60
Re: RG 3120 Bridge Setup

anyone else?
Langeani is offline  
post #8 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-31-2012, 03:39 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 501
Reviews: 11
Re: RG 3120 Bridge Setup

Looks like a bad route to me, sorry man.. it shouldn't hit the cavity at all. But hey, at least it's easy to repair! Takes about 10 minutes of careful routing or filing the route a bit by hand.
FrostStorm is offline  
post #9 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-31-2012, 04:33 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: izmir
Posts: 407
Re: RG 3120 Bridge Setup

http://s15.postimage.org/a7kxihuzf/P8120075.jpg

http://s15.postimage.org/zevtiqy3f/P8120074.jpg

http://s15.postimage.org/4yuhyd1y3/P8120073.jpg

this is how it is on my "97 3120, hope it helps

7 mm depth, 5 mm width.
mertay is offline  
post #10 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-31-2012, 04:44 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 60
Re: RG 3120 Bridge Setup

thanks guys... but how would I route or fill?

mertay, urs looks just as close as mine... on the low e, how much does the pitch bends?

thanks
Langeani is offline  
post #11 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-31-2012, 05:49 PM
 
RGTFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Lenox, IL-USA
Posts: 10,116
Reviews: 2
Re: RG 3120 Bridge Setup

I think there's something other than a "bad route" going on here. Can you take the same size and detail shot of the top of the trem and trem route? Try to include the studs as well.
RGTFanatic is offline  
post #12 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-31-2012, 06:21 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: izmir
Posts: 407
Re: RG 3120 Bridge Setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by Langeani View Post
thanks guys... but how would I route or fill?

mertay, urs looks just as close as mine... on the low e, how much does the pitch bends?

thanks
Probably a its better if you let someone professional do it with proper tools...

I've kept it blocked for a while (like the clean tones more like this) but never remember hitting the wood while playing or experimenting, since the trem. block goes there with an angle (and you don't want to break strings) probably the measurements I gave should be deep enough.
mertay is offline  
post #13 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-31-2012, 07:06 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 60
Re: RG 3120 Bridge Setup

hey guys.. sorry, but I just dropped it at the pro, so it will take some days till i get her back.

rgt fanatic: do u think the trem maybe too far up (close to the pickup)? if so, is there a way to bring it back?
Langeani is offline  
post #14 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-31-2012, 07:15 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Iowa
Posts: 64
Re: RG 3120 Bridge Setup

Does your body have binding. Seeing the bad route and the off color. That may be a knockoff. Or my other theory is that somebody installed a permanent block and re finished the body. Or it's just one wired 3120.
iamdunker1 is offline  
post #15 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-31-2012, 07:20 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 60
Re: RG 3120 Bridge Setup

yeah, i'll have the pro opening it up to check on everything... stamps on body and neck, pickups, and everything. it ain't a permanent block, it just won't go pitch-up enough! it's a legit bridge, that's for sure. about the finish, it's probably too much sun, as someone already said... it's got the user manuals, stickers with matching number for the serial number, and stuff like that... so, it's most likely not a knock off... especially cause it plays beautifully! =]
Langeani is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JS edge bridge setup chemicalmagical Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 7 04-03-2004 03:16 PM
Bridge on RG 3120 pulling up....again Given to Fly Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 06-26-2003 11:13 PM
Ibanez RG-3120 Setup Question (new to site) Bury Your Dead Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 4 06-09-2003 02:05 AM
Edge bridge setup jetfixer Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 08-29-2002 06:28 PM
Action setup, used 3120 - I'm stumped dmike Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 8 05-02-2002 02:16 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome