rg moneypit - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-16-2008, 12:10 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,391
rg moneypit

ok so i have a guitar foundly nicknamed MONEYPIT. it is a rg 320fm black. ive sunk a bunch of money into it, 2 different sets of dimarzios, a mirror pickguard, new headstock decal, knobs & switch, and i recently scalloped 21-24. needless to say its my project guitar. it is the cheapest one i own but i love it the most, mostly because of the neck and dimarzios. well the edge 2 aint cuttin it. the only time its in tune is when i dont whammy, or just a little. so i just purchased an edge pro for it. will the edge pro stay in tune any better that the edge 2? I have been playing alot of hair metal and it requires a fair share of divebombs and flutters, i hope the edge pro fixes this.
callen3615 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-16-2008, 02:28 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: IL, USA
Posts: 317
Reviews: 2
Re: rg moneypit

I think it's hard to say. Not all trems are created equal in quality, but any decent trem should stay in tune. You could try a couple of setup ideas. Make sure the locking nut is tight (but don't overtighten) and by that I don't just refer to the blocks for the individual strings but where it is also tightened with those 2 bolts through the maple side of the neck. Same for your neck joint, make sure it is tightened enough and seated properly. Have you ever removed the neck? And for the most obvious one, make sure the tremolo is "set at zero", and if need be experiment with different springs, amount of springs, and placement of them in the tremolo cavity. Anyways, just saying a proper setup could help without the need of introducing a new trem.

Last edited by Stygian; 09-16-2008 at 02:42 AM.
Stygian is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-16-2008, 09:06 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,391
Re: rg moneypit

no everything is set up right. I'll post some pics of it
callen3615 is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-16-2008, 09:43 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,391
Re: rg moneypit

this is the weird thing, when i do a huge divebomb i have strings that are sharp and then strings that are flat right beside each other. on my js100 when i do that i would have all my strings detuned just alittle. my jackson v on the other hand would still be in tune. o and the fact that my edge fits kinda sideways in the cavity doesnt help either. my knife edges are not parallel.
callen3615 is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-16-2008, 09:59 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 489
Re: rg moneypit

Often, some flat/some sharp strings after a divebomb = strings that weren't stretched properly OR old/fatigued strings. Other (remote) possibilities include slightly loose intonation screws/saddles (maybe the saddles are slipping backward and forward in tiny increments with heavy trem use? Old/fatigued springs?

When you say "sideways in the cavity" and "my knife edges are not parallel"; sideways how? Not parallel relative to what? Maybe the trem isn't sitting on the posts correctly.

These are just possibilities. I'm certainly not a guru or anything, but any or all of those things could be the culprits here. Just my thoughts.
chaos731 is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-16-2008, 10:03 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,391
Re: rg moneypit

nope the trem is not parallel to the bridge pup or that side of the body. the high e side is closer to the pickups that the low e. does that make any sense?
callen3615 is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-16-2008, 10:05 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,391
Re: rg moneypit

probably 2.5mm difference. i had to file down part of the bridge to make it fit, im telling ya its ghetto. this is why i just got a edge pro
callen3615 is offline  
Reply

Tags
dimarzio , edge pro , rg 320

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome