RG1527 and APEX2 sound issues - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-15-2011, 10:17 PM Thread Starter
HoP

RG1527 and APEX2 sound issues

OK, so ive been playing a RG1527 for like 6 years, I swapped the pups out for a PAF7 in bridge, and a Blaze7 in neck. I decided to purchase a APEX2 for a backup guitar, and I was baffled that... these guitars sound completely different.. ive got the same pups in bridge position and just cannot get the same sound. (and yes they are wired correctly) so my question is... could it be the pots are that different that it would effect the sound? my 1527 has more sustain and it more "metal" and smooth then my APEX2, which sounds great.. but not alot of sustain... and i guess just way to "korny" for me lol. but its just too different for me.. I need my APEX2 to sound like my 1527.. any ideas?? im trying to figure out how these guitars with same PUPS can sound so different.. only thing I can think of is pots.. but I didnt think pots had a huge influence on sound.

thanks for ANY help!

-Tyler
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-15-2011, 10:47 PM

Reviews: 21
Re: RG1527 and APEX2 sound issues

The RG1527 is made of basswood and has a trem.
The Apex2 is made of mahogany and is fixed bridge.
I'm not sure these guitars will sound the same with the same pickups. You might need to go with a D Activator? I'm not sure. Typically one goes for different wood deliberately to get a different sound.
Also, I think logically the Apex2 would have more sustain being a fixed bridge guitar. I'd check the setup.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-15-2011, 11:43 PM Thread Starter
HoP