RG350 or RG4EXFM1 - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-11-2010, 11:46 AM Thread Starter

RG350 or RG4EXFM1

Hi guys. Ibanez noob here with a couple questions. I'm looking at buying a guitar for my kid and I have narrowed it down to either a RG350DX or RG4EXFM1. I had a chance to play them both at my local GC and for the money didn't seem too bad. They have both models new and in stock priced at $379 for the 350 & $449 for the 4EXFM1. They also have them used (but like new) for $279 (350) and $349 for the 4EX. I have searched the forum and found a LOT of info (good and bad) on the RG350DX, but not much on the 4EX? If you were to pick between these two models which one and why? Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-11-2010, 12:04 PM

Reviews: 2
Re: RG350 or RG4EXFM1

In a monetary sense, money is an issue - but not concerning guitars. I currently have an 150$ electric (the GRG-170M) and I consider myself lucky to have found a good model - maybe it's the tree it was cut from, maybe it's just sheer chance, but the guitar sings.

As a rule of thumb, and pertaining to your question - play them unplugged. See which one sings the most, and look for something that's vibrant, with an almost acoustic volume. That defines a good, resonant guitar, regardless of price. The features are generally a secondary concern, whereas the wood and resonance are pretty big.

For my part, that's the most important criterion.
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-11-2010, 01:03 PM Thread Starter