RG370DX = First new guitar in 8 years ... - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-14-2006, 11:20 PM Thread Starter

RG370DX = First new guitar in 8 years ...

Hey there peeps.

I just bought myself an RG370DX (from GAK) which arrived today. I've been playing the same guitar for 8 years so It's kind of a big step for me (as lame as that sounds). My old Guitar is a B.C. Rich Mockingbird with a fixed bridge and some Seymour Duncans I got from an old high school friend's Randy Rhoades signature guitar. I'll probably end up putting them in the 370 but I need to sort some things out first.

Firstly, my apologies in advance, my technical knowledge is limited when it comes to guitars, the most 'advanced' thing I've done is lower the action on my B.C. Rich which was a fixed bridge, so all I had to do was turn the screws. I have never really played on a guitar with a trem before so couple that with the Floyd Rose system, I'm a bit overwhelmed.

I think it's actually set up pretty well. The first thing I did was loosen the Floyd Rose lock at the headstock and stretch out the strings before retuning, and it hasn't gone out of tune once since (even with me going crazy with the trem). But the trem does sound pretty "creaky", is the best I can describe it as, and not being familiar with it I'm worried it might not be normal. Can anyone put my mind at ease?