S Prestige or J Custom? - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 33 (permalink) Old 06-08-2009, 11:49 AM Thread Starter

S Prestige or J Custom?

S Prestige or J Custom?

Probably asked a zillion but... I'm new here so...

I'm new to Ibanez. I'm an old strat player who got an RG370DX just to see how an Ibanez plays... Well I found it plays very well! I like very much it's neck feel and radius . I should have gone Ibanez sooner!

So I'm now almost ready to upgrade to a higher quality Ibanez. I first tought about a RG Prestige 1570, the next day I tought about an S5470 and finaly I discovered about the J Customs and now I wonder If I should go for a J Custom...

So my questions are:
Is an S5470 of equal quality compared to a J Custom RG8570Z? What's the difference in the end? Both are build in Japan in the same factory, isn't it?

Why should I pay more and order from Japan a RG8570Z J Custom (and being stuck with no warranty) instead of a S5470 that I could buy localy with a full warranty?

Thansk in advance for your help!

Last edited by stratquebec; 06-08-2009 at 12:19 PM. Reason: s5470 not s4570
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 33 (permalink) Old 06-08-2009, 01:37 PM

Re: S Prestige or J Custom?

Based on your love for the 370's neck i think the S would be your best choice.
Its neck is only 1mm thinner than the 370,the J custom however has the 'super wizard' neck which is flat and thin(2mm thinner than 370),im guessing you like some meat in ya necks?
The quality between the two is there but marginal,they are both top notch!
The S is top quality and can cover all styles and i think you would never regret the purchase. Keep in mind,S's and JC's are mahogany so are darker in tone than the basswood RG370.
Go the S mate,get ya warranty and play some tunes.