Seeking advice on a guitar with locking trem - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

View Poll Results: Which route would you go?
Upgrade JEM Jr 0 0%
Used RG1070PBZ 4 44.44%
New RG5120M 1 11.11%
Other (list below) 4 44.44%
Voters: 9. You may not vote on this poll

7Likes
  • 2 Post By oliver_p
  • 1 Post By Formerly Given To Fly
  • 1 Post By pteropid
  • 2 Post By jim777
  • 1 Post By Joan

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-05-2019, 12:09 AM Thread Starter

Seeking advice on a guitar with locking trem

I've been learning guitar for about 9 months, and I'm looking for a guitar with a locking trem system.

I bought a used JEM Jr. a few months ago, and I really want to like this guitar. I think it looks awesome and feels really great, but, unfortunately, the frets aren't level, the trem doesn't return to pitch very well, and I don't really like the pickups.

So I'm considering a few different options:

Upgrade the JEM Jr.

I could replace the trem with a Gotoh, have the frets leveled, and install Dimarzio or Fishman pickups. It might turn out great, or I might sink $500-800 into it and end up with a disappointing guitar that has little resale value.

Used S/RG1070PBZ

This is a really cool looking guitar with stainless steel frets and Dimarzio pickups. They get pretty good reviews, but the one I saw in person at Sam Ash looked like it suffered from pretty poor craftsmanship. I could probably find one for ~$900 used.

RG5120M