Seven string not working out - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-21-2009, 06:07 PM Thread Starter

Seven string not working out

So ive been playing guitar properly now for about 5 years(not including the on and off mess about times when i was younger) and im about to go off to Music school at the G.I.T in London and ive got two sevens ive had for about 8 months now... now i grabed them when the price was right (dam right if you get me) and have been playing them on and off during that time, so you know its not like im some kid whos just picked it up and decided i cant make it do what petrucci can do so im bored. The issue ive got is i thought that having the low B would be awsome and versitile... well its great i find if i wanna do a song in a key where i need a D or even a C but i find my low B is just a bit too intense and i fall back on Chug Chug Bmin type riffs which im bored of now days. I know thats just lazy and there are plenty more things you can do but seriously... i mean ive been wondering if going back to 6es for now then reinvestigating 7 strings would be better at a later date or if at all. Any one else had this? Its a bit moany and existenital i know so bummer if it bores you.

Plus ive been well disalousioned with what guitar companies are producing in general and the prices they want to charge for them, im contemplating pulling a Ron Jarzombek and building my own out of parts and stuff...

Thoughts comments?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-21-2009, 07:56 PM

Re: Seven string not working out

You could try retuning with some crazy thing, I know Paul Gilbert did something with 3 D's on top.
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-22-2009, 03:16 AM