should i buy another guitar... - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-14-2009, 01:57 PM Thread Starter

should i buy another guitar...

Ok so I've been playing guitar for about 7 years on and off i began at school and mostly learned by myself with my friends by picking songs and trying to play the tabs... its ok for a while but now i wanna be serious about it and learn with a more structured path and theory.

the problem is, i have been given an ibanez proline 2550 (yeah i know how lucky i am) and the locking nut system is driving me nuts (no pun intended) i understand now how it works and why its useful but every time i want to change my tuning to let's say... dropped D i have to tune the whole guitar again, what i was wondering is should i buy another guitar just to practice or do you have any tips/tricks i could use to keep playing with this one... i love how this guitar sounds and i have a very limited budget, i don't want to end up with some crappy almost toy guitar but it would save me a lot of hassle... what do you guys think ?

Edit: oh and by the way i dont even have a tremolo arm so i dont even use the tremolo edge bridge, could i just remove the screws from the locking nuts and hope my guitar stays tuned ?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-14-2009, 02:25 PM

Re: should i buy another guitar...

you could try blocking the trem? think theres a guide on here somwhere
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-14-2009, 02:37 PM

If you don't use the trem, I would suggest blocking it somehow. There are several solutions to accomplish this, some simple and cheap, some more elegant, some more permanent, and some simply more effective than others.