Ibanez JEM Forum banner

Strats

2K views 16 replies 9 participants last post by  jimmi 
#1 ·
Hey, So I have fallen in love with strats. I want to play more blues so I have decided I want one.

Can anyone tell me a bit about the Made in america vs japan/mexico?

Which ones are the most sought after/ highest quality and what are some price points?

I am new to fender prices so please help me out!

Thanks

#2 ·
Ive been a hugh fender strat fan for years and worked at a guitar store that was a fender dealer. After play lots a strats the best advice i can give is leave room in your budget for a set of customshop texas specials(SRV pickups). They are THE strat tone people love...every time people hear of play my strat they said " what are those pick ups? ". Providing you want your strat to sound like a classic strat that is.
The guitars them selves are like cars in the respects its a case of how much you can afford ?
The mexicians are very good value for mone anf you can always upgrade the hard wear..please note machine head tunners and bridges are different quaity...and usa strats have two pivit bridges and mex have six screws so you cant inter-change them.
Jap strats have a great vintage feel and a great look but pick ups are rubbish.
Another thought is to buy the neck and body separate to get the colour of choice and the neck profile and fret board you want..the down side is you cant try it first.
If youd prefure not working a your own guiar go to a shop and work out a deal for them to put in the pickups and give you a good price..
You can often find Custom Shop strats second hand for the price of new USA strat...custom shop strats are like a wet dream for the strat player.
Regardless of your choice there are a heap of very good upgrade part for all the strat models as your budge grows. But if you can afford it strat with a USA strat.
Hope this helps a little.

#3 ·