trem arm doesn't fit the armholder - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-06-2006, 02:39 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 24
trem arm doesn't fit the armholder

i bought new rg 1570,everything is good but the trem arm doesn't fit the arm holder anymore(i changed the teflon washers 2-3 weeks ago and i remember that old washers don't cause aproblem like that),there is a very very little space,and i don't know how to fix it..

Last edited by canneerr; 02-09-2006 at 03:27 PM.
canneerr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-07-2006, 04:30 AM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 717
Re: trem arm doesn't fit the armholder

Provided you used the washers that came with your guitar, and got them to snap on properly, the only answer is brute force....it sometimes takes quite a bit to get a new one in...

...having said that, dont break it or anything, 'force' is very subjective, so if you think youre using a reasonable amount and it still wont go in, best get a new set of washers.
voodoo_child is offline  
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-07-2006, 05:02 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 24
Re: trem arm doesn't fit the armholder

thanks a lot for your answer but i didn't understand all of your writings(i'm so sorry my english is poor)...can you explain me what to do in a more simply way...
canneerr is offline  
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-07-2006, 08:39 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Detroit, MI, USA
Posts: 1,457
Re: trem arm doesn't fit the armholder

he said, push harder
ryanb is offline  
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-08-2006, 05:35 AM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 717
Re: trem arm doesn't fit the armholder

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryanb
he said, push harder
perfect translation
voodoo_child is offline  
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-08-2006, 06:12 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Het rijk van Nijmegen, the Netherlands
Posts: 1,629
Re: trem arm doesn't fit the armholder

Make sure the washers are on correctly, they have a tiny dot marking. Off the top of my head, I don't know which way is up though...
eviltwin is offline  
post #7 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-08-2006, 07:03 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 24
Re: trem arm doesn't fit the armholder

thank you man , now i understand...i know how to push in the washers or the trem arm etc..but i'm afraid that the trem arm damaged the holder(like the crappy licenced floyds, in a month the arm holder becomes wider than the arm)...is it possible?i don't expect it from edge-pro,i heard their quality is really good...i hope it will be good with a set of new washers

Last edited by canneerr; 02-08-2006 at 07:09 AM.
canneerr is offline  
post #8 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-08-2006, 08:44 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Phoenix,Arizona
Posts: 1,056
Re: trem arm doesn't fit the armholder

I had a similar problem when I 1st got my BRMR. The new bar wouldn't go iinto the new bridge on my new guitar. Before I panicked and sent it back I tried another bar. I took the one that was kinda loose off of my VWH and put it into the BRMR and it worked great. I put the one that came with the BRMR into the VWH and it went in no problem and is nice and tight. Still to this day I'm unsure why this happened. Maybe there is an adjustment that can be made, but I don't know at this time what it is.
GTR-MAN is offline  
post #9 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-08-2006, 12:42 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 24
Re: trem arm doesn't fit the armholder

when i first bought this guitar(rg 1570) it was hard to push in the trem arm and it was working good but now the holder doesn't holds the arm perfectly,there is a little space between them...tahats my problem and i'm so sad about this cause i use floyd everytime i play guitar...

Last edited by canneerr; 02-09-2006 at 03:27 PM.
canneerr is offline  
post #10 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-08-2006, 03:48 PM
Moderator
 
jim777's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 9,689
Re: trem arm doesn't fit the armholder

Be careful when you are pulling the arm out of the trem. If you pull the trem bar with your right hand, hold the bridge still with your left hand. I had a stuck arm on my 7620 years ago, and pulled the bridge out of the guitar! I almost gave myself a heart attack!
jim777 is offline  
post #11 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-08-2006, 06:47 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: West Sussex, England
Posts: 936
Re: trem arm doesn't fit the armholder

I lost the trem arm on my RG1550 and when buying a new one from Ibanez (for an Edge Pro trem) i couldn't fit the trem arm into the trem.

Of corse, the main reason for this is that it's a new arm and the new washers are stiffer and need to be "broken in" i guess you could say. I wasn't much for pushing down on my trem hard, but when i took the guitar to my local Ibanez dealer, the guy there just forced the arm in. About a week later and the trem arm opperates like normal without stiffness. You just need to break it in i guess
Chud is offline  
post #12 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-08-2006, 07:04 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 24
Re: trem arm doesn't fit the armholder

i guess i couldn't explain my problem correctly...i can push the arm in easily,there is no problem about that...the holder doesn't holds the arm perfectly,there is a little space between them,the holder is bigger,when you push in the arm to the holder,first the arm is moving and then the bridge is starting to change the pitch...There is a little space between them so first the arm and then the bridge is moving...i hope i explained what i'm thinking..(with this poor english it's really hard to write)
canneerr is offline  
post #13 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-09-2006, 10:40 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 24
Re: trem arm doesn't fit the armholder

i'll sell this guitar if i can't fix the trem...i use floyd very often and if it must be like that i must sell this guitar and buy anotherone with Original Floydrose...I read lots of reviews about this guitar,they were saying awesome guitar but now i have problems with floyd,i can't understand...

If you now the solution of this problem(previous message) please help..
canneerr is offline  
post #14 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-09-2006, 06:26 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,383
Re: trem arm doesn't fit the armholder

Okay, sadly this is a regular problem with the Edge. The use of the bushings is simply something you have to live with.

Every time you use the bar you're wearing a bit off the bushings, so the arm will become looser over time.

Every time you remove/replace the bar in the holder you are basically sheering material off of the bushings, making it become looser even faster.

There are a lot of "tricks" people will give you to tighten up the bushings, but the best way is to simply replace them.

If the bushings are new, and it's tight going in but you still have play in the bar, then the holder itself is loose and it's a simple fix.

Go to www.ibanezrules.com (swirly banner at the top of the page) and read through Rich's tech pages to learn the easiest, safest way to tighten your arm holder up.

If it's just the bushings, while you're there email Rich for prices and shipping costs to have him send you some new ones. He's one of the nicest salesman you'll ever deal with.

Oh, by the way, Hello everyone! I'm back, I've been concentrating on school lately and haven't spent much time on here but I have some free time and I'm trying to catch up a bit on reading the forums. :-)

Mic
MicJustMic is offline  
post #15 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-10-2006, 03:42 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Phoenix,Arizona
Posts: 1,056
Re: trem arm doesn't fit the armholder

So the bar is loose ?

If so there is a screw at the bottom of the arm holder that can sometimes be tightened.
The most effective way is to take out the trem and tighten the nut that holds the arm holder in place. You can't really reach it well with the trem in the guitar.
GTR-MAN is offline  
Reply

Tags
arm holder , edge pro trem , edge trem , edge trems , ibanez dealer , ibanez guitars , trem arm

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
why doesn't ibby make a trem with a lock on it? windycitycane All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 3 01-26-2014 12:37 PM
Loose armholder. Tips? Asstaroth Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 6 10-17-2012 01:10 PM
EZ trem arm doesn't move freely (also w/o bushing) mpr Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 0 04-13-2012 05:53 PM
Replacement Lo Pro trem doesn't stay in tune in my RG370DX!! longi Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 0 12-08-2009 01:34 PM
replacing tremolo armholder johank Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 3 02-17-2002 04:40 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome