Trem arm wont stay in place. - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-23-2013, 11:47 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2
Trem arm wont stay in place.

Uh , im using a Ibanez S420 and my tremolo arm wont stay in place( moves around and not stay in place when playing).
I tried opening the backplate tried tightening the thing under the trem arm.
But it didnt work. Pls help me.
Thanks
miniche is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-23-2013, 12:25 PM
 
Demogorgos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 1,195
Exclamation Re: Trem arm wont stay in place.

Quote:
Originally Posted by miniche View Post
Uh , im using a Ibanez S420 and my tremolo arm wont stay in place( moves around and not stay in place when playing).
I tried opening the backplate tried tightening the thing under the trem arm.
But it didnt work. Pls help me.
Thanks
Hi,

You'll see two (teflon/plastic?) rings on your trem arm, replace them and it will be "fixed" again.

Also, I learned that storing your guitar with the trem arm in the trem in the case causes these rings to consume faster. So always take out the arm when you store a Ibanez guitar with trem in the case. A certified Ibanez dealer told me this, and he is the most knowledgeable guy I know on *any* guitar.

Regards,

JP
Demogorgos is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-23-2013, 12:57 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 789
Re: Trem arm wont stay in place.

Wouldn't the case have to be really tall for the guitar to fit in it with the trem arm installed? The hard shell Ibanez cases I've seen wouldn't work for this (they would lower the trem arm into a dive if closed with the arm installed and I assume it would be bad to store it like that for any period of time).
ironfistx is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-23-2013, 01:02 PM
 
Demogorgos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 1,195
Re: Trem arm wont stay in place.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ironfistx View Post
Wouldn't the case have to be really tall for the guitar to fit in it with the trem arm installed? The hard shell Ibanez cases I've seen wouldn't work for this (they would lower the trem arm into a dive if closed with the arm installed and I assume it would be bad to store it like that for any period of time).
The J-Custom hardcases come with a cavity inside to leave the trem bar on the guitar. It is however not recommended to do this.

Regards,

JP

Last edited by Demogorgos; 03-23-2013 at 01:03 PM. Reason: typo
Demogorgos is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-23-2013, 01:35 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nottingham England
Posts: 104
Re: Trem arm wont stay in place.

I use the nail varnish trick every other month, works for me. I gig weekly and my guitar is in and out of the hard case with trem removed every time.

http://www.jemsite.com/forums/f21/ti...his-28428.html
Marine Boy is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-24-2013, 04:44 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2
Re: Trem arm wont stay in place.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Demogorgos View Post
Hi,

You'll see two (teflon/plastic?) rings on your trem arm, replace them and it will be "fixed" again.

Also, I learned that storing your guitar with the trem arm in the trem in the case causes these rings to consume faster. So always take out the arm when you store a Ibanez guitar with trem in the case. A certified Ibanez dealer told me this, and he is the most knowledgeable guy I know on *any* guitar.

Regards,

JP
But my tremolo arm only has 1 white plastic thing.
miniche is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-24-2013, 02:04 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 789
Re: Trem arm wont stay in place.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marine Boy View Post
I use the nail varnish trick every other month, works for me. I gig weekly and my guitar is in and out of the hard case with trem removed every time.

http://www.jemsite.com/forums/f21/ti...his-28428.html
The link to the thread in that thread doesn't work.
ironfistx is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-24-2013, 04:16 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nottingham England
Posts: 104
Marine Boy is offline  
Reply

Tags
s420 trem arm

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP- trem arm on new RG2550E wont stay stationary Noopz Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 4 01-15-2008 01:32 PM
strings wont stay tuned??? rhinojohn2112 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 02-21-2007 08:36 PM
UV777PBK wont stay in tune? morris"squid finger"daley Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 12 11-01-2006 06:55 PM
Wont stay in tune dohdoh Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 5 11-02-2005 10:02 PM
How to get trem bar to stay in place? ElectriK All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 10 05-19-2005 02:44 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome