TRS vs. Edge - (for people that don't "divebomb" - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-16-2001, 12:36 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Illinoize!!
Posts: 1,418
TRS vs. Edge - (for people that don't "divebomb"

I just bought a RG470, with the flat black finish. *I've had it for 2 weeks, minor trem use, and it hasn't gone out of tune. *How much better is an Edge than a TRS for a person like me that isn't hard on the trem? *I just want to know if its worth hunting down an Edge and having the 470 routed for it. *
Polaris20 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-16-2001, 12:52 AM
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 306
TRS vs. Edge

If you don't use the whammy very much, you probably won't have many problems. *With that said, I'm going to duck and run 'cause the big guns are going to start shooting soon! *The TRS sparks a little hostility here in the forum. *
bachle7 is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-16-2001, 12:57 AM
site founder 0% owner
 
jemsite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 11,475
Reviews: 1
TRS vs. Edge

keep the guitar as-is for a while. Get comfortable with it and learn it's limitations, if any. Worry about the tremolo when you find it detracting... glen
jemsite is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-16-2001, 02:39 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Italia
Posts: 4,725
TRS vs. Edge

I think you better not to replace the trem, if you really don't use it as much.
Anyway, a TRS routing is bigger than the Edge's, so you won't need to have your 470 routed for it.

I replaced a TRS w/ a Lo-Pro Edge (RG270), and I needed no routing jobs at all.

If you REALLY don't use the trem as much, DON'T replace it! The TRS will works fine for you.

nuno
nuno is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-17-2001, 12:40 PM
 
kirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,577
TRS vs. Edge

The TRS route on the Jem 555 was smaller than the Edge trem I was going to put on it.

I second what Glen says - unless it is detracting from your experience, leave it alone. *(if it aint broke don't fix it.)
kirk is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-17-2001, 01:00 PM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: England
Posts: 6,978
Reviews: 1
TRS vs. Edge

One of the biggest reasons I love the edge, is I find it a very comfortable bridge to have on a guitar. So I like to have one anyway.

But as everyone else says, if *you* don't have a problem with the TRS leave it alone and save yourself the cash
jono is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-17-2001, 02:47 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: St. Augustine Beach, Fl
Posts: 554
TRS vs. Edge

Yep, leave it and play your git and be happy. If you get into some serious whammy abuse later on then possibly an Edge would be a nice addition.

* *It seems to be a toss-up as to whether or not you'd have to route. The cavity size of the lower RG line must vary a bit.
jeff l is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-11-2001, 02:54 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: India
Posts: 6
TRS vs. Edge

What are the issues involved with changing a TRS with an edge?
Can you also upgrade a single locking TRS505 (on RG270) to make it a double locking trem by changing just the saddles????
deadly damien is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-13-2001, 10:57 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Illinoize!!
Posts: 1,418
TRS vs. Edge

Its amusing that this thread is still "alive". I actually sold that RG470, and am waiting to get the RG421!

Someday, I'll get a trem-equipt guitar again, but then it will be an RG3120, or at least something with an Edge.

I'll never, ever get another TRS. After I posted this thread, I apparently had spoken too soon, cuz I started to really have tuning problems. Besides pup swapping, I'm not one for major guitar projects, i.e. swapping in new bridges wich may involve routing etc. I'd rather be playing and recording!
Polaris20 is offline  
Reply

Tags
edge trem , pro edge

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
a weird crack sound during divebomb Satrianello Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 3 08-16-2011 01:15 PM
Why do people seem to choose the Lo Pro over the Edge Pro? metalguy All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 26 05-09-2011 08:07 PM
Edge Zero doesn't divebomb all the way. ZenIbanez Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 09-01-2009 04:09 PM
What's the best whammy pedal to divebomb artificially? Lauri M Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 8 07-04-2002 07:34 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome