Unplugged tone - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-27-2010, 02:25 PM Thread Starter

Unplugged tone

I'm new to to the forum so HELLO everybody
Is it just my 1570, or all the rg's sound very quiet and hmmm... flat? I pick up my cheap cort guitar (fixed bridge, basswod) and hear how loud and deep it resonates. Then I swap to 1570 - the tone is much worse and I become really frustrated how "cheap" it sounds. When I was buying it, I thought it was just a matter of really old strings. Things didn't get much better after I changed them though... It's driving me crazy when I think how much did I pay for it. Yes, it's perfectly made, very comfortable and effortless to play, but damn - on some frets it really lacks in sustain. It's told that when you check the guitar in the shop, you sholud play it unplugged and listen to the wood. If I didint see how well is it made I'd say it's a rather cheap axe... What's your opinion about it? How about your rg's/jems? Maybe they are simply much quieter, because of the tremolo?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-27-2010, 02:28 PM

Re: Unplugged tone

My J Customs all resonate beautifully. My UV777 being basswood does as well. No issues.
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-27-2010, 02:31 PM Thread Starter

Are you able to compare it to some cheaper, fixed bridge guitar? Is there much difference?
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-27-2010, 03:00 PM
GAZ

Sounds like a set up issue. Lack of neck relief, too low action, trem not parallel to body and so on.
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-27-2010, 03:15 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by GAZ View Post
Lack of neck relief.