Upgrading An RGT42 - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-13-2008, 05:00 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 18
Upgrading An RGT42

Hey, I just became a member yesterday cuz I need some advice.

I recently purchased an RGT220A, and I freakin' love it. My other Ibanez is an RGT42, which is a good backup guitar now.

Basically, I want to know if I can make my RGT42 as good as my new guitar. The only things that (as far as I know) are lower quality are the pickups and the trem system. Pickups are easy to remedy, but the bridge is what I'm not too sure about...

The RGT220A has the Edge Pro, while the RGT42 has the Edge Pro II. The Edge Pro II is like quite a bit stiffer, and the bar is a pain in the neck to keep stiff.

Is it possible to just swap and Edge Pro II for an Edge Pro? I've searched this question quite a bit, and some people say yes, while some say no.

Also, does anyone think that there's anything else that would have to be upgraded to make the RGT42 as good as the RGT220A?

Thanks,
Aaron
aarontheguy3000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-13-2008, 05:26 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Braga, Portugal
Posts: 1,339
Reviews: 4
Re: Upgrading An RGT42

I don't think they are direct replacements.
However, I think some minor routing shall do the trick.

And just swap the pickups...
Crazy_Guitar is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-13-2008, 06:27 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Adelaide , Australia
Posts: 1,297
corey j grieve is offline  
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-13-2008, 09:24 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Italia
Posts: 4,725
Re: Upgrading An RGT42

Quote:
Originally Posted by corey j grieve View Post
wow, that's my site

i can provide better translation btw, but the bottom line is that, to me, it is a direct replacement, at least, the ones i replaced (about 5) were. the only con, is that due to the different shapes of the trem blocks and routes, the EdgePro can't pull-up too much. at now, only one guy told me he couldn't replace it directly, so i assume it all depend on how tight building precision tolerances were when they built that given guitar.
nuno is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-13-2008, 07:29 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 18
Re: Upgrading An RGT42

Awesome. Thanks guys, This site rules.
aarontheguy3000 is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-14-2008, 03:10 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 165
Re: Upgrading An RGT42

I'm currently selling my RGT42FMDR on everyone's favorite auction site. It has been upgraded with the Edge Pro, and there was no routing involved. In terms of the pull up/dive tolerances, I never noticed it to be a problem when pulling up a few steps. And the bridge is definitely planted as far down in the cavity as it should be - It's not like it was raised to compensate for any lack of pull distance.

I say definitely give it a go! The RGT42 is a quality guitar when you look past the pickups and the trem. Very solid, good wood, and attention to detail. Someone speculated at one point that they thought the bodies were built and prepped in Japan and then sent to Korea for finishing and hardware installation. I don't know how accurate that statement is. Again, just speculation.
mccabekyle is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-16-2008, 05:26 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 18
Just Following Up On This Problem

So I got the new Edge Pro about a week ago. It fit in with no fuss whatsoever. Intonating the guitar was a bit of a pain, but it's way, way better than the Edge Pro II. Thanks again for the help guys.

Right now I'm waiting for some Breed pickups. I think I'm gonna put them in my RGT220A guitar, and put the RGT220A stock pickups in the RGT42. Who cares, right?

Now I need another tremsetter and one (or two) Tremol-no(s). It never ends!
aarontheguy3000 is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-16-2008, 05:29 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,391
Re: Upgrading An RGT42

cool, have fun!
callen3615 is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-16-2008, 10:10 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Braga, Portugal
Posts: 1,339
Reviews: 4
Re: Upgrading An RGT42

Great! New bridge and new pickups for that baby!
Crazy_Guitar is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-17-2008, 08:06 AM
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 174
Re: Upgrading An RGT42

so you're going to block an your new edge pro with a tremol-no??
if you were just going to block it, why didn't you just keep the edge 3 and save your money?
william1993 is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-17-2008, 08:36 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 18
Re: Upgrading An RGT42

I'd just want the tremol-no for the dive only mode. To be honest, I wouldn't bother getting one, but my band's set list is composed of 50% standard tuning songs and 50% Drop D songs. So I have to keep both guitars in different tunings, and I'm kind of screwed if a string breaks on one. If worse came to worse I'd be able to use the tremol-no to change the tuning on the fly. Now I'm wondering if those D-Tunas work on Edge tremolos?
aarontheguy3000 is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-17-2008, 03:48 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,174
Reviews: 120
Re: Upgrading An RGT42

The D-tuna will only work on standard profile trems - so Lo-Pro Edge, Edge Pro, Edge Pro 2, Edge 3, and Edge Zero are no gos.

It will work with Original Edge, OFR, Schaller and Gotoh trems, basically other any standard profile Floyd Rose based trem.

If you have a low profile trem get your tremol-no and just make sure you can unlock the locking nut easily so you can use the machine head, or try and balance the fine tuner so you can go down to drop d from there.
LonePhantom is offline  
Reply

Tags
edge pro , edge pro 2 , rgt220a , rgt42 , tremolo

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










 
Similar Searches

People searched for this, also searched for these:

upgrading cpu in alienware m15x
upgrading firmware on psp from mod

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading caps? plugger Pickups & wiring 1 09-03-2008 04:25 PM
Upgrading Memory. chopvai Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 11 10-22-2007 10:09 PM
Upgrading bLYNDcYDE All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 2 01-21-2006 06:57 PM
Upgrading Rig artificial infection Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 5 05-28-2005 08:45 PM
js100 worth upgrading sheva16 Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 37 11-21-2004 06:03 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome