Upgrading Tuners for AX7221 - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-22-2008, 06:59 AM Thread Starter

Upgrading Tuners for AX7221

So I've got the AX7221 upgraded with SH-4 in bridge and Blaze in neck, however the stock tuners go out of tune every time i bend, so i need to upgrade to better. As I'm not an expert in such things could you tell me my options and recommend some specific tuners. I live in eastern Europe so i need shops/evilbay that ship them to here.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-22-2008, 08:57 AM

Re: Upgrading Tuners for AX7221

Have the strings been changed recently? If so, are they stretched in properly? What kind of nut is it? A simple change for a graphite nut can do a lot. How are the strings wound on the tuners (sloppy with many turns, or neat with few turns)? Is it only when bending or do you have constant tuning issues?
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-22-2008, 11:47 AM Thread Starter

the strings have not been changed recently ,however this happened with brand new stretched strings too, and i play rarely and strings are in good condition. they are stretched properly.
its the stock plastic nut
most strings are wound with one turn or less
i have constant tuning issues but with bending it just goes out immediately, especially G string which is hard to tune to perfect pitch in the first place
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-22-2008, 12:08 PM

Hmm...odd...tuners are pretty expensive just to see if it gets better, so maybe changing the nut would be first on the list. Is the bridge/neck screws fully tightened? I'm kinda running out of questions here :S
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-22-2008, 01:00 PM