wanna make an ibanez xiphos - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 10:39 AM Thread Starter

Smile wanna make an ibanez xiphos

hey ppl ..i am planning to build a guitar and originally it was going to be a stratocaster bcoz of the range of playability its got.however i then decided to build a flying v.but ever since i saw the xiphos my hearts set on it..drool!..
ive decided i have to have one..since its a neck through body(can we make it to have a bolt on neck to fit in the body?) it would be difficult for me to make one as i have limited resources and havent got any blueprints unlike stratocaster..so i decided to make a strat ,and buy a xiphos later as i dont hav that kind of money to invest now..im a student.however my heart keeps wanting xiphos.so i'd request ppl please help me with your valuable opinions on how to make a xiphos or a neck through body.. photos and ideas would be appreciated..thanx
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 11:02 AM
Banned

Reviews: 98
Re: wanna make an ibanez xiphos

An answer to this requires much more than a simple reply. Obiously, you have no guitar building experience--based on some of your comments. With the right experience, tools, and resources--you can build any guitar you can dream up. Just because a "stock" model has a neck-thru design, does not mean you can't make a bolt-on version. I suggest heading over to projectguitar.com and looks through the tuts. Start researching guitar building threads, and maybe start with something easier.

post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 02:10 PM

Reviews: 2

There are other 'X' bodies (non-Ibby) that accept bolt-on necks. Maybe try to bolt Ibby neck and hardware to one of these bodies ?
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-06-2010, 12:05 AM