What guitar should I get? - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 11-23-2012, 12:55 PM Thread Starter

What guitar should I get?

So I am a beginner and I am looking to buy a guitar. I like classic rock, indie, progressive, alternative, and the like. My budget is about $150. I was eyeing some rg120 and 170s and was wondering if they are good guitars? I noticed the 170 has a single coil so I am assuming I can get some nice clean sounds.

Originally my plan was to get a stratocaster but I can't find that many used on ebay, and the ones I do find are usually over priced. I could get one at guitar center but it would have to be shipped and used items don't take paypal and my money is in paypal and I can't buy an egiftcard with paypal either or some reason. In any case I found a nice looking standard strat for $99 but it has a dent in the back that goes into the wood. I thought about getting a dual humbucker tele but those are also out of my price range.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 11-24-2012, 02:45 AM

Reviews: 2
Re: What guitar should I get?

$150 is very little money. $300 would get you somewere. You got a Rg350 on xbay now for $150. Then you get a edge 3 trem at least. My opinion would be to stay away from the 120 and 170 series. I guess you could find MIJ Ibanez RG's and S models for not so much money and they are so much better then those. Or some Fender Squiers. If you have a really bad guitar you might stop playing, then it would be better to have a better one that you could have for a while and grow together with and that won't brake.

Last edited by maqify; 11-24-2012 at 02:51 AM.
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 11-24-2012, 02:56 AM

Reviews: 120