What model Ibanez bass is this? - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-14-2002, 06:51 PM Thread Starter

What model Ibanez bass is this?

Can someone tell me some info about this bass?
I'd like to know the model, specs, years and approximate value if I were to buy it used these days.
I'm a guitarist, but need a bass and have recently been offered this for, but don't know what it is.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-14-2002, 07:30 PM

Looks like a Soundgear...by the heavier bridge maybe an SR800? There are MANY models over the past several years that look a lot like this...SR800, 400, 300. Some Japanese, some Korean, etc...prices vary.

You might poke around here for some more info:
http://www.harmony-central.com/Bass/Data4/Ibanez/

Greg
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-14-2002, 08:15 PM

I believe this is one of the earlier Japanese Soundgear basses. I don't think any of the Korean models had the fully contoured Radius-style body with the tilted jack. These were the higher-end models. Lower-end Soundgear basses had simpler bodies that had flatter tops and backs and just heavily rounded edges and more traditional arm and tummy cuts.
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-14-2002, 08:57 PM Thread Starter

The guy told me that he believes it to be a Soundgear SGR870 but I can't find any info about that model.
The case says "Ibanez Prestige Deluxe" on it if that means anything.
It's got active electronics... if that helps at all.
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-15-2002, 07:37 AM

Owner of two Soundgears coming through, step aside please!