Yay... just bought myself a new shiny guitar! - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-12-2003, 10:07 AM Thread Starter

Yay... just bought myself a new shiny guitar!

HI! this is my first time to post here but ive always visited this forum for 2 years now. And this is the reason i developed GAS and with all the tips i learned here I bought my first made in japan Ibanez, its a s1220 with glossy transparent black finish with edge tremolo. I also have a JS100 with seymour duncan pups which is also great except for that crappy lo trs 11 trem(which is now fitted with a tremsetter).

I was planning on changing the pups on my new s1220 but when i got home and played it, I was amazed by how good the stock QMS pups were. The harmonics are everywhere and it has this rather thick sound to it. The prestige neck is really great, its fast and feels great and the low action i was able to get is just unbelievable. Next is the looks, it is a killer with a flawless gloss finish. The only thing that dissapointed me is the trem spring block lock is missing. For a brand new guitar this is unacceptable(I posted this issue in the tech section). But still a great guitar, thanks guys for all the great info on this forum.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-12-2003, 12:29 PM

that lock bar isn't really necessary. I have to take mine of anyway as I use 4 springs and .10 guage strings.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-12-2003, 09:27 PM

Congrats on the new S. I agree with Brian, that lock thingy is not necessary. In fact on the two S models I have right now I've removed them because they rubbed on the cavity cover...even after shimming the neck and raising the bridge...so out they went.
Greg
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-13-2003, 03:55 PM

got any pix,
bud?