Yet another frozen knob! - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-10-2012, 12:22 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The FTL, Florida
Posts: 4,368
Reviews: 21
Yet another frozen knob!

WTF?!? I realize this might be a little late coming. I rotate out my guitars so it took a while to happen but yet ANOTHER volume knob froze on me in my '06 RG1570! This is like the 3rd guitar this has happened to. The other two being my RG20th and an RG350 much earlier in their lifespans.
Please tell me Ibanez isn't still putting these sh!tty pots in their current Prestige or Premium guitars!
Any other recently frozen pots out there?
mike570 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-10-2012, 07:47 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 5,010
Reviews: 64
Re: Yet another frozen knob!

Yeah Mike, rg1527 here, had to change its volume pot and pups switch.
I barely use volume pot cause I use a volume pedal in my rack stuff.
Cheap pots and switches even in prestige models and bridges loose paint fast.
You pay 700 for a prestige there, we pay about 2200 dollars so stop complaining
6fingers is offline  
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-10-2012, 10:15 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: netherlands
Posts: 498
Re: Yet another frozen knob!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6fingers View Post
Yeah Mike, rg1527 here, had to change its volume pot and pups switch.
I barely use volume pot cause I use a volume pedal in my rack stuff.
Cheap pots and switches even in prestige models and bridges loose paint fast.
You pay 700 for a prestige there, we pay about 2200 dollars so stop complaining
Stop feeling sorry for yourself and move the hell out of there!
Death.by.G-string is offline  
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-10-2012, 10:35 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The FTL, Florida
Posts: 4,368
Reviews: 21
Re: Yet another frozen knob!

Treva,
I had it happen on a 350 too. I don't think they use the same pots though as the Prestige line. It pisses me off because I was thinking of using that guitar on my next gig. I would have been lots more upset if if froze while I was on stage.
mike570 is offline  
post #5 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-10-2012, 11:10 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 5,010
Reviews: 64
Re: Yet another frozen knob!

I already tried some japanese and korean/indonesian whatever rgs and some of them had noise and scratching volume pots and necks felt really weird like if frets were in wrong places, I don't know, it was weird.
Quality is down... maybe not with signature models
6fingers is offline  
post #6 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-10-2012, 11:31 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 387
Re: Yet another frozen knob!

If your knob keeps freezing try some warmer pants?
corpraider69 is offline  
post #7 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-10-2012, 11:39 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 5,010
Reviews: 64
Re: Yet another frozen knob!

Quote:
Originally Posted by corpraider69 View Post
If your knob keeps freezing try some warmer pants?


before it hides inside of your "cave"!
6fingers is offline  
post #8 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-10-2012, 01:04 PM
 
RGTFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Lenox, IL-USA
Posts: 10,116
Reviews: 2
Re: Yet another frozen knob!

I really don't know if this could be the problem, but if your in Lauderdale you have a lot of humidity in the air. When your guitars come out, their more exposed. I would guess that the shaft on the pots gathers a bit of humidity, then gets put away for x amount of time. I think the shaft is possibly corroding when you store them. Maybe using a small amount of graphite powder on the shaft before you put it away will help?

Just a thought..........

Ryc
RGTFanatic is offline  
post #9 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-10-2012, 02:00 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The FTL, Florida
Posts: 4,368
Reviews: 21
Re: Yet another frozen knob!

Haha! corpraider and treva! I love this board!

Actually frozen pots seemed to be a fairly common problem on the RG20th. This is probably from the same batch only it took a while for it to freeze.
I'm just hoping Ibanez no longer buys this pot and puts it in their current guitar lineup.
mike570 is offline  
post #10 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-10-2012, 03:51 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Athens GA
Posts: 941
Re: Yet another frozen knob!

They just use garbage components on those things. Yea, its a shame you think at the price point they are selling at they could at least not use $0.10 chinese garbage but they do. (The wiring is god awful as well)

Completely rewire the guitar and be happy.
musikron is offline  
post #11 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-10-2012, 04:45 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 320
Re: Yet another frozen knob!

All of my guitars have standard pots and are all pre 1992. Never had this happen before. Tells you something.
SP2333 is offline  
post #12 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-13-2012, 07:52 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Iowa
Posts: 64
Re: Yet another frozen knob!

same problem on my 07 rg1570 cheap fix but a hassle none the less.
iamdunker1 is offline  
post #13 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-13-2012, 01:13 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 61
Re: Yet another frozen knob!

Seeing this problem on my '09 1550...
rfields is offline  
post #14 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-19-2012, 12:37 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Newport Beach, California, USA
Posts: 145
Re: Yet another frozen knob!

Since I always replace the electronics and pups I hadn't realized the problem had gotten this bad. Are a lot of people experiencing this?
IamFastEddie is offline  
post #15 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-19-2012, 07:21 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The FTL, Florida
Posts: 4,368
Reviews: 21
Re: Yet another frozen knob!

I can see replacing pickups as that's more a matter of taste but why should you have to replace electronics on a "Prestige" instrument? I wonder if the RG2xxx and RG3xxx series have better pots.
mike570 is offline  
Reply

Tags
frozen , ibanez , knob , rg1570

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
frozen RC-20xl beelzebul Archived Topics and Common Questions 0 01-03-2012 10:04 PM
Wire between toggle and volume knob on JEM 7V has broken off the knob side Hiketsu Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 11-17-2010 05:22 AM
my tone knob is a volume knob... Homebake Pickups & wiring 12 06-27-2009 03:15 PM
FS: Caparison TAT II FROZEN SKY sirshredsalot Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 02-06-2009 03:54 PM
Stud locks frozen on a Lo Pro stratoskier Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 19 09-29-2002 12:06 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome