Big Brass block , just a question - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-07-2012, 04:07 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 18
Big Brass block , just a question

so i installed the block on the trem all good and fine ...
bright tone ... loud tone ! , and got some sustain ...

now since the block is like 2 times bigger than the original block
my trem can only dive now ...
i mean i cant pull my trem anymore cause the block hits the wood ..

so is there any way to handle with that , without cutting off any wood ?
or will i have to live with dive only ?
TheChasing is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-07-2012, 04:28 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 165
Re: Big Brass block , just a question

Well, where's light, there's shadow!
Cut wood or remove the block. No way around it, unless you set it in a ridiculous forward angle, to get more space for pulling up. That'll make the trem unstable and reduces space for dives then.

Hence: --> either less wood or less block material. ......or live with dives only.
Jemanized is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-07-2012, 06:53 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,238
Reviews: 120
Re: Big Brass block , just a question

Is this in an Edge III equipped Indonesian built Ibanez? Their cavities seem a little smaller than older models, and Japanese made models in general. I've installed a couple of brass blocks and had no issues. Just take a bit of wood out with a Dremel or sandpaper on a small block. No Ones going to see it.
LonePhantom is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-07-2012, 07:52 AM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 149
Thumbs up Re: Big Brass block , just a question

+1
LonePhantom

did the something on my Jem and rg550.
modulo is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-07-2012, 02:11 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 18
Re: Big Brass block , just a question

Quote:
Originally Posted by LonePhantom View Post
Is this in an Edge III equipped Indonesian built Ibanez? Their cavities seem a little smaller than older models, and Japanese made models in general. I've installed a couple of brass blocks and had no issues. Just take a bit of wood out with a Dremel or sandpaper on a small block. No Ones going to see it.
uhm nope :P .. its an old Kramer striker 100st ... american built..
with a schaller non locking floyd , seymour duncan jb at the bridge ... no further pickups , just the jb .. rosewood fretboard , shaller locking nuts on the neck ...
pretty decent guitar for the price/age ..
but more of a sentimental value for me ...


so i guess i stay with dive only ... i pretty much dont like the idea of
"cutting" my guitar :P ..

thanks a lot guys
TheChasing is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-08-2012, 07:17 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South wales UK
Posts: 222
Reviews: 12
Re: Big Brass block , just a question

Phantom you've done a few big brass blocks, I have zero pullup on my two remaining tuiars with a big block, whats the best way to cut into the cavity, I dont want to go too deep, do I need to cut square or can I just dremel the route at an angle so the block can go deeper?

I dont think I'd need to cut much out...just a slight indent into the body where the brass block touches when pulling up...
ozzuk is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-28-2012, 07:36 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: london
Posts: 2
Re: Big Brass block , just a question

I had to cut away a section to install a big block on one of my guitars. I cut in at a slight angle using a drill then finished off with sand paper. Took about an hour. Looks fine and no interference on pull ups. So worth it! These really sound amazing. Now have them installed on all my Floyd trem guitars.
Just to mention, I also use a product called saddle singers which sound wonderful with the brass big block but they don't fit all Floyds.
My Floyd equiped guitars are now the best sounding guitars I own in respect of acoustic volume, resonance, response and sustain and that's with the trems floating.
Definitely worth removing a little wood as a Floyd that can't pull back isn't really what they're about I suppose.
Happy routing!
ohmgroan is offline  
Reply

Tags
brass block

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FU Brass Block for Edge Pro?? spudler_t Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 8 02-16-2012 08:37 PM
BRASS BLOCK HELP! PeripheryVBD Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 01-27-2012 10:55 AM
My Own Brass Big Block takenaway Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 8 12-27-2010 06:17 PM
Brass Block in S540 reguv760 Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 4 04-07-2010 06:17 AM
FT: Floyd Rose Brass Trem Block for Ibanez Edge Block t1r12003 Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 02-27-2009 08:19 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome