Bridge Breaks Strings? - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-25-2019, 04:02 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 1
Bridge Breaks Strings?

I keep snapping the high E string on my bridge. I don't know what bridge it is but you can't tell from the image I uploaded because that doesn't work.


Although I uploaded an image of the saddle, it was apparently removed.

But from ibanez dot fandom dot com/wiki/Edge_Pro?file=Ibanez_Edge_Pro.jpg this image, it seems to be EdgePro (see www dot jemsite dot
com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=9797&stc=1&d=153323261 1 ). It seems to swivel. Does it swivel? It's RG8670.

It looks like it might have a small pit, causing the string to get cut. How can I fix this? Can I replace the saddle? Should I try to sandpaper it?

Thank you!

Last edited by Kemono2; 07-25-2019 at 04:13 PM.
Kemono2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-25-2019, 04:37 PM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: England
Posts: 6,983
Reviews: 1
Re: Bridge Breaks Strings?

Hi there, firstly welcome to JEMsite - sorry you can’t get the image to upload, we had to implement a minimum post count before allowing images to be posted due to then high levels of spam.

I’m not familiar with the Edge Pro having always preferred the Edge and Lo
Pro Edge, I think replacing the saddle is probably sure fire way of sorting the issue but others might be able to advise on a less drastic fix.
jono is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-25-2019, 06:49 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 148
Re: Bridge Breaks Strings?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kemono2 View Post
I keep snapping the high E string on my bridge.

It looks like it might have a small pit, causing the string to get cut. How can I fix this? Can I replace the saddle? Should I try to sandpaper it?
I used to be a jeweler and have lots of tools for polished small metal surfaces. If you've got a friend in the field you might take it to them and they'll also be able to look at it under magnification to properly identify what type of problem you've got.

Sounds pretty simple, unless it is a hole requiring re-shaping, in which case the best course may be to just buy a new saddle.

Interesting user name you chose there.
Hoseki is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-26-2019, 09:38 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 1
Re: Bridge Breaks Strings?

I would also recommend replacing the saddle. With the amount of tension and vibration that a string endures, a tiny imperfection can easily cause your issue. Saddles are cheap to replace.
Mesa Madness is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-27-2019, 09:15 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Croatia
Posts: 519
Re: Bridge Breaks Strings?

I would recommend swaping saddles. No cost.
With Floyd Rose there are 3 different saddle hight,
but with Ibanez bridges I think that bridge plate is curved and saddles are same height, so if all saddles are same height just swap with 3rd string saddle, or 6th string saddle.
Those are thickest strings and probbaly they will not be affected with saddle imperfection.
peromucho7 is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-27-2019, 08:24 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 148
Re: Bridge Breaks Strings?

Quote:
Originally Posted by peromucho7 View Post
I would recommend swaping saddles. No cost.
With Floyd Rose there are 3 different saddle hight,
but with Ibanez bridges I think that bridge plate is curved and saddles are same height, so if all saddles are same height just swap with 3rd string saddle, or 6th string saddle.
Those are thickest strings and probbaly they will not be affected with saddle imperfection.
This is the best post yet and won't take long to do or cost a cent!
Hoseki is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-01-2019, 12:36 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Indy, IN
Posts: 1,979
Reviews: 4
Re: Bridge Breaks Strings?

My 7VSBL Lo-Pro (????) trem likes to break the High E string too. I can't help but do crazy whammy hysterics and then "PLINK!"

My awesome local tech quit to become an IT dude, too. Bummer.
Ekim is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-02-2019, 06:36 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 6
Re: Bridge Breaks Strings?

thanks for sharing!
jameswdj96 is offline  
Reply

Tags
bridge

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome