Buzz in tuner - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-05-2013, 11:13 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Mahwah NJ
Posts: 6
Buzz in tuner

Hello,

Has anyone else run into a problem like this one? I'm getting a buzz from the 6th tuner, but only when I play the "G" string on the seventh fret, usually with an upstroke, but not completely confined to the up motion. It's loud when the guitar is not plugged in, but it's not picking up through my amp. Any feedback is helpful.

Thanks,
Bert
Guitarded is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-05-2013, 11:29 AM
Vendor
 
Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 25,714
Re: Buzz in tuner

Did you leave the ball ends on the string at the tuner?
Rich is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-05-2013, 11:37 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Mahwah NJ
Posts: 6
Re: Buzz in tuner

Hi Rich,

Yes, the balls are seated in the holders, it's been through several string changes and it's still going on.
Guitarded is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-05-2013, 12:11 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 2,647
Re: Buzz in tuner

make sure your tuners are tight, not tight enough so you can't turn the tuner but enough so that they dont rattle
j.arledge is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-05-2013, 12:14 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Mahwah NJ
Posts: 6
Re: Buzz in tuner

Ok, I'll check on them tonight and see where I'm at. Thanks!
Guitarded is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-05-2013, 01:47 PM
Vendor
 
Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 25,714
Re: Buzz in tuner

>the balls are seated in the holders

If you mean at the tuners the balls will vibrate at a sypathetic pitch. If you mean in the saddle then the balls are not your problem.
Rich is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-05-2013, 02:02 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Mahwah NJ
Posts: 6
Re: Buzz in tuner

Hi Rich,

They are in the saddle, so it's not those suckers.

Thanks,
Bert
Guitarded is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-05-2013, 02:30 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,559
Re: Buzz in tuner

Balls in the saddle? What bridge?
wilch is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-05-2013, 02:36 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Mahwah NJ
Posts: 6
Re: Buzz in tuner

In the body of the guitar, as per the instructions. There's a little seat in the floating tremolo that mine fit into. They gave the option of cutting off the balls or letting them slide into the seats, so I usually leave them on.
Guitarded is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fret BUZZ BUZZ BUZZ lotusroadster Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 10 09-23-2010 04:18 PM
FS: N-Tune Onboard Tuner - Replaces Existing Volume with Volume/Tuner! (new in box) For_The_Love_Of_Jems Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 5 08-16-2010 07:03 PM
D-tuner tony777 Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 5 01-07-2004 03:37 PM
advice needed for strange fret-buzz on my UVGR - nasty buzz Superuser Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 8 02-19-2002 04:35 AM
Rack tuner - can I put a tuner in the effects loop? - I coul djrjems Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 5 02-13-2002 09:55 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome