Can I add a Lo Pro Edge to this guitar? - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-19-2005, 03:34 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cambridge/Memphis/Nashville
Posts: 3,769
Can I add a Lo Pro Edge to this guitar?

I was wondering if I could install a Lo Pro Edge to this guitar here - http://www.hamerguitars.com/?fa=detail&mid=897&sid=190#

Would any routing be required?

Also, in order to do routing, should I contact a luthier to do it?

Thanks
waylay00 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-19-2005, 04:37 PM
 
Gurj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Warwickshire, England
Posts: 1,918
Re: Can I add a Lo Pro Edge to this guitar?

Most likely yes. I had a lo-pro fitted to my Jackson Soloist, which originally had a Schaller Floyd on it. Luckily the trem post holes didn't need to be redrilled, but I had to get a fellow jemsiter to do a bit of routing work.
Gurj is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-19-2005, 04:59 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cambridge/Memphis/Nashville
Posts: 3,769
Re: Can I add a Lo Pro Edge to this guitar?

So do you think a luthier would be able to do the routing if needed?
waylay00 is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-19-2005, 05:13 PM
 
Gurj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Warwickshire, England
Posts: 1,918
Re: Can I add a Lo Pro Edge to this guitar?

Shouldn't be a problem for a luthier. But check how the trem fits first, last thing you want is for top of the body to be routed!! Then you'll need a refinish aswell, making it a very expensive project. Then again, you could always buy an Ibanez already equiped with a lo-pro
Gurj is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-11-2006, 01:17 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: nashville
Posts: 787
Re: Can I add a Lo Pro Edge to this guitar?

Actually, a carbide router bit will do a very clean route and you can simply paint the cavity with black sheilding paint and it looks factory(I have done this on a few guitars with excellent results). As long as the stud spacing is the same 74mm, it should be a simple mod.
albee1952 is offline  
Reply

Tags
jackson soloist , pro edge

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would you pay more for a guitar with an Original Edge jono Polls 31 12-09-2009 02:07 PM
Getting a guitar from Rich. Edge Zero versus Edge Pro. Which one to get? einarabelc5 All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 33 08-21-2009 05:48 AM
Edge or Lo pro into a non Ibanez guitar? Triggerman9 All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 4 02-08-2008 03:29 PM
Edge studs on an Edge Pro equipped guitar? bringer of torture Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 09-18-2007 06:28 PM
Retrofitting Edge-Pro or Lo Pro to a guitar with an OFR? waylay00 All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 7 01-06-2006 08:41 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome