Can I have .007 gauge on the Edge Zero? - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-03-2016, 02:52 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 990
Reviews: 13
Question Can I have .007 gauge on the Edge Zero?

The Edge Zero has two springs on the back, and it's not possible to add/remove springs. One can only adjust the springs back and forth. Obviously, it's way less flexible than add/remove springs.

So I ask: would the Edge Zero have enough room to adjust to a .007 gauge? (Yes it exists, and I use it.) Or, if not that extreme, would the Edge Zero handle a .008 set? Anyone tried that?

Thanks in advance.
Rachmaninoff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-04-2016, 05:37 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 81
Re: Can I have .007 gauge on the Edge Zero?

I'm ~99% sure the Edge Zero uses standard sized springs so you could replace the 2 springs with some lower tension ones. I know that plenty of people have done the opposite and bought higher tension ones so they could use .011 gauge and up.

My Edge Zero handled .008's fine when tuned to standard without having to change the springs, I've never used .007's on it though.

Hope this helps
Roachy is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-04-2016, 08:19 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 990
Reviews: 13
Re: Can I have .007 gauge on the Edge Zero?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roachy View Post
My Edge Zero handled .008's fine when tuned to standard without having to change the springs, I've never used .007's on it though.
Thanks for the input. Let me as another question then: with those .008's, did you still have room to adjust further? Or it was somewhat "on the limit"?
Rachmaninoff is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-06-2016, 10:07 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 81
Re: Can I have .007 gauge on the Edge Zero?

There was a little bit of room, but really not much. It worked fine for me in standard tuning but I wouldn't have expected it to work tuned half or a full step down.
Roachy is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-07-2016, 02:10 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 990
Reviews: 13
Re: Can I have .007 gauge on the Edge Zero?

So I bet they made the thing to hold .008's at standard tuning, maybe a half step down, nothing beyond.

Thanks man.
Rachmaninoff is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-18-2016, 02:50 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 81
Re: Can I have .007 gauge on the Edge Zero?

Hey there,

Just an update on this: I removed my Edge Zero yesterday when I was doing some restringing/setting up and when I removed the springs I realised they're not standard springs, they're a bit shorter than standard ones, so I don't think you'd be able to get .007's on there with them.

I've got .009's on there now and there's loads of adjustment room left though.
Roachy is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-18-2016, 01:56 PM
 
RGTFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Lenox, IL-USA
Posts: 10,116
Reviews: 2
Re: Can I have .007 gauge on the Edge Zero?

You always have the option of using heavier guage strings on the E, A, and D to compensate for the lower tension on the G, B, and hE.
RGTFanatic is offline  
Reply

Tags
.007 gauge , .008 gauge , edge zero

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edge Pro JEM7V 10 gauge strings change cpelaez Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 6 10-05-2012 11:28 AM
Edge zero custom gauge setup help Trickae Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 0 10-23-2010 11:33 PM
Pick Gauge to String Gauge Rico010 Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 4 01-31-2010 06:34 AM
Drop D with 0.12 string gauge on Edge 3 tremolo Yamadron Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 3 08-15-2009 07:53 AM
7 gauge strings? Dirty Gypsy Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 9 02-06-2007 02:24 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome