Can I really use Lo Pro studs on an Edge Zero? - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-25-2015, 07:34 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 5,768
Can I really use Lo Pro studs on an Edge Zero?

I'm talking about using the redesigned 2LE2B stud on a guitar that came with an Edge Zero. The guitar in question is a 2013 RGD2127Z.

The guitar definitely had the EZ locking studs and I had been using them. I did feel like no matter how hard I ran down the lock screw, the EZ studs definitely turned more than I was used to before locking. I had to set the string height higher than I wanted and hope that it was where I wanted it when the stud finally locked. Took some trial and error but I got it.

Over the weekend I was doing some reading and I see that Rich says that you can swap in the Lo Pro 2LE2B "super studs" on the EZ to get a better profile.

http://www.ibanezrules.com/namm/2008/hardware.htm

I was changing pickups and had an extra set of those studs around so I went for it. Well basically the studs wouldn't lock at all. I went probably a full extra turn on one of them before I got freaked out that I was just driving the set screw into the wood and I backed off.

Rich or anyone, can you verify that this works?
Takin' a Ride is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-25-2015, 09:09 AM
Vendor
 
Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 25,714
Re: Can I really use Lo Pro studs on an Edge Zero?

Pull a stud and make sure it has locking anchors.
Rich is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-25-2015, 09:13 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 5,768
Re: Can I really use Lo Pro studs on an Edge Zero?

Yeah I'll get around to that eventually. Don't like the pickups I stuck in there so when I get something new I'll check it out.

Your early reviews of the EZ equipped guitars said they had closed bottom anchors. Have you seen some variation in production stuff?
Takin' a Ride is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-25-2015, 09:15 PM
Vendor
 
Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 25,714
Re: Can I really use Lo Pro studs on an Edge Zero?

I had several EZ guitars that had open anchors I had to do the stud mod on to correct.
Rich is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-25-2015, 09:24 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 5,768
Re: Can I really use Lo Pro studs on an Edge Zero?

I'm pretty sure these are open bottom. Thankfully the guitar is basswood so I didn't actually lift the damn anchors out of it! I'm sure I have a nice little divot down there now.
Takin' a Ride is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-25-2015, 10:24 PM
 
RGTFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Lenox, IL-USA
Posts: 10,116
Reviews: 2
Re: Can I really use Lo Pro studs on an Edge Zero?

Are the anchors the same diameter as ED/LP anchors, or are they more like EP anchors? The EZII anchors are smaller.
RGTFanatic is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-26-2015, 07:59 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 5,768
Re: Can I really use Lo Pro studs on an Edge Zero?

Assuming that thy're open they would be like EP anchors.
Takin' a Ride is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-26-2015, 08:37 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Melbourne, FL 32940
Posts: 3,348
Re: Can I really use Lo Pro studs on an Edge Zero?

I bought two set screws from the hardware store that are the same thread.
Then I ground them down on both sides; top and bottom.
This makes them very thin.
I left just enough on the top so that the allen wrench would still grab.
Then you just thread them down to the bottom of the anchor.
They make a nice metal bottoms.
sebastian is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-26-2015, 09:41 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 5,768
Re: Can I really use Lo Pro studs on an Edge Zero?

That's exactly what Rich sells. I'm happy to pay Rich to do that work

I actually think I have a set of those sitting around from the guitar Michael stole from me. That's where I got the studs from.
Takin' a Ride is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-08-2015, 07:58 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 5,768
Re: Can I really use Lo Pro studs on an Edge Zero?

So I pulled these yesterday and found something I've never seen before. The guitar has closed bottom anchors, but they have a machined in flare that matches the locking screw on the EZ studs. These screws are much larger than the ones on the older studs.

What I found is that the lock screws from the old style studs were just making a giant divot in the metal at the bottom of the stud. I don't know what would ultimately happen if I kept running them down, so I went back to the EZ studs, which locked predictably.

One thing I noticed on the EZ studs that I've not seen before is some bluing visible in the finish, which is most likely due to heat treating. I think that they are hardened, where the old ones are not. That might make them better able to get away with the profile that they have.
Takin' a Ride is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xiphos with edge pro trem and original edge studs/anchors ibanguitar All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 2 10-15-2013 10:45 PM
Studs: EZ vs LP/Edge reguv760 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 5 11-05-2010 02:03 PM
Using Edge III anchors and studs for Edge pro? faekildare All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 3 03-16-2009 11:43 AM
Edge studs on an Edge Pro equipped guitar? bringer of torture Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 09-18-2007 06:28 PM
OFR on Edge Studs Blunster Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 10-31-2005 07:01 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome