Can you remove the ZPS in an RG? - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-09-2011, 08:02 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: argentina
Posts: 76
Can you remove the ZPS in an RG?

I've got my RG1570Z with this system that will make the tuning much more stable (which also makes the use of the whammy much more stiffer) and I'd like to know if you can remove it without too much hasle because I'd like to know how a real FR system feels like.. I think it's called the ZPS system right? Or is that the thumb-adjustable trem system? It's a 2010 model.

I did a quick Google search and nothing came up (I also suck at that anyway). Is there any good guides or anybody willing to help over here?
paison90 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-09-2011, 09:29 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 142
Reviews: 1
Re: Can you remove the ZPS in an RG?

All it involves on my ZR bridge is 2 springs and a chrome bar. I wouldnt Imagine yours being much harder to remove. I didnt like the ZPS. Stiffer. I do like it for what it is designed for though. smart.
Robbles is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-09-2011, 11:02 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 261
Re: Can you remove the ZPS in an RG?

if they're the same as the S zps. all you have to do is push the whammy down enough that the zps bar is off of its holders, then roll it off from the tremblock
BlanK is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-14-2011, 05:52 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 475
Re: Can you remove the ZPS in an RG?

The easiest way is to just pull the springs off first. Then the bar comes right out.
xXLinkageXx is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-14-2011, 06:03 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 9,291
Reviews: 98
Re: Can you remove the ZPS in an RG?

The ZPS is actually a good system. I say leave it on and just get used to it. I have one in my Premium and love it. I got used to it prettyquick, and I don't even feel the difference.....until I play one of my Ibbies with and Edge.



AlaskaBat is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-14-2011, 09:06 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: argentina
Posts: 76
Re: Can you remove the ZPS in an RG?

But is it ok to try to dive bomb with the system on? It feels so hard to pull down the bar that I think I'll break something if I keep forcing it.

By the way, in case I want to take off the springs, do I need to remove all the strings first?
paison90 is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-14-2011, 04:26 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 60
Reviews: 6
Re: Can you remove the ZPS in an RG?

No, just pull the bar out from the back. Dead easy. Just did it on my Rg2570.
http://www.ibanez.co.jp/eu/download/manual/eg2010.html

click on the link for a pdf manual.
stratcat69 is offline  
Reply

Tags
remove , rg1570 , zps

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can anybody remove vocals from an mp3 gitarguy Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! 3 07-12-2007 08:39 AM
how to remove ZR tremolo? Jing Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 07-11-2006 12:36 AM
How do you remove arm holder? Koss Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 05-05-2005 02:22 PM
remove kreesj All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 0 02-14-2003 02:54 PM
Remove finish johank Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 10 08-16-2002 02:27 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome