To change the Floyd Rose from a Ibanez Roadstar II - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-22-2012, 03:33 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: spain
Posts: 6
To change the Floyd Rose from a Ibanez Roadstar II

Hi buddies,

I have an Ibanez Roadstar II RS 440 from 1985. Im happy with it but the bridge is a problem for me, specially with the palm mute. This bridge is very big and I dont know if I can change for other model...

Any help?

Thanks a lot!!
johan liebheart is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-22-2012, 04:10 PM
 
RGTFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Lenox, IL-USA
Posts: 10,116
Reviews: 2
Re: To change the Floyd Rose from a Ibanez Roadstar II

Quote:
Originally Posted by johan liebheart View Post
Hi buddies,

I have an Ibanez Roadstar II RS 440 from 1985. Im happy with it but the bridge is a problem for me, specially with the palm mute. This bridge is very big and I dont know if I can change for other model...

Any help?

Thanks a lot!!
The Rs440 SHOULD have an original Edge trem on it. If so, you can swap in a Lo-Pro edge without any modification. The Lo-Pro is just that....lower profile.

BTW...Welcome to Jemsite!!!!
RGTFanatic is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-22-2012, 04:13 PM
 
RGTFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Lenox, IL-USA
Posts: 10,116
Reviews: 2
Re: To change the Floyd Rose from a Ibanez Roadstar II

Sorry, I just checked the catalog. Your guitar came with the Pro-rocker bridge.

You'll have to relocate the trem studs to fit a Lo-Pro Edge in it.
RGTFanatic is offline  
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-22-2012, 04:23 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: spain
Posts: 6
Re: To change the Floyd Rose from a Ibanez Roadstar II

I think the Pro-rocker is bigger than the Lo-Pro Edge. Maybe a Kahler brigde? Would be too much difficult to fit a Lo-Pro in my guitar?
johan liebheart is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-22-2012, 08:45 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,232
Reviews: 120
Re: To change the Floyd Rose from a Ibanez Roadstar II

Probably easier to work a Kahler into it.
LonePhantom is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-23-2012, 05:46 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 394
Re: To change the Floyd Rose from a Ibanez Roadstar II

Yeah, it's possible to fit a Kahler - someone made a thread about it a while back; he converted a red RS530.

Converting to a regular Floyd type would require major surgery. The post spacing on a Pro Rock'r is about 82mm, while a Floyd (including Edge and Lo-Pro) is 74mm. I guess you'd have to fill the whole Pro Rock'r route since a Floyd wouldn't cover it, and drilling for narrower post spacing doesn't leave much wood between them and the route.
Ashurbanipal is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-24-2012, 07:30 AM
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 2,561
Reviews: 34
Re: To change the Floyd Rose from a Ibanez Roadstar II

Thinking about this, it is probably just filling and redrilling the trem post and doing a bit of routing in the trem cavity.

As far as I remember, pro rockers aren't recessed, so wouldn't an OFR just sit proud of the body?
nickcoumbe is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-24-2012, 06:28 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 394
Re: To change the Floyd Rose from a Ibanez Roadstar II

^^ Yes, non-recessed. The route is pretty big because the block is further back due to the string holders, even swapping in a Hard Rocker doesn't cover it.

Most Roadstars are flat topped, except for the RS525 (which I have) and maybe some others. If you wanted a Floyd to sit on the body EVH style, you'd also have to remove wood from the neck pocket, as the Pro Rock'r is higher profile.

So, quite a job.
Ashurbanipal is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-24-2012, 08:55 PM
 
RGTFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Lenox, IL-USA
Posts: 10,116
Reviews: 2
Re: To change the Floyd Rose from a Ibanez Roadstar II

Is it possible to see pics of this guitar with the trem removed? I think this job can be done easier than is being described, but I'd like to see some pics to be sure.
RGTFanatic is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-24-2012, 10:07 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 394
Re: To change the Floyd Rose from a Ibanez Roadstar II

Here you are. Quite an abyss as you can see, but on my Roadstar, at least, the tone is still there - plenty of attack and tight punch; the whole guitar vibrates a good bit.



Ashurbanipal is offline  
post #11 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-26-2012, 08:03 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: spain
Posts: 6
Re: To change the Floyd Rose from a Ibanez Roadstar II

And what model of Kahler would I use for my guitar? Is necessary the surgery with a Kahler? Thanks everybody!!
johan liebheart is offline  
post #12 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-26-2012, 08:18 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: So Paulo - BRAZIL
Posts: 4,066
Re: To change the Floyd Rose from a Ibanez Roadstar II

if you're into a guitar surgery, i'd sugest putting up a Lo Pro Edge on it.
WillTubarao is offline  
post #13 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-26-2012, 01:10 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: spain
Posts: 6
Re: To change the Floyd Rose from a Ibanez Roadstar II

But the Lo Pro Edge requires more surgery than the Kahler, I think...
johan liebheart is offline  
post #14 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-27-2012, 06:15 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 394
Re: To change the Floyd Rose from a Ibanez Roadstar II

Supposedly, the rear of the trem cavity needs to be expanded a little for the Kahler so it can be intonated properly, but not much compared to a Floyd. Here's the thread about the conversion: http://www.jemsite.com/forums/f18/rs...ons-53840.html.

I'd guess a 2300 would be the ticket or a variant, depending on your taste in cam and roller material. Never had a Kahler or played one so I can't recommend which one.
Ashurbanipal is offline  
post #15 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-27-2012, 05:44 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: spain
Posts: 6
Re: To change the Floyd Rose from a Ibanez Roadstar II

So, do you think is better option to replace a original Floyd or a Lo Pro Edge? I dont want to buy an expensive trem and realize a big, complicated and very expensive surgery... Thanks for the responses!!
johan liebheart is offline  
Reply

Tags
roadstar ii rs 440

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What ibanez floyd rose do I have? Aku48 Archived Topics and Common Questions 0 07-30-2011 12:59 AM
WTB Original Floyd Rose or GOTOH floyd rose callen3615 Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 3 01-22-2011 02:12 PM
What's better? Floyd Rose or Ibanez DNA1570PL Off-topic / Miscellaneous 29 12-23-2009 01:33 AM
Floyd Rose users- educate me. Rite Now Floyds make me freak- Change my viewpoint Alkeys All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 32 03-05-2008 03:42 PM
Floyd Rose Cavity: Lo Pro Edge same as Original Floyd rose - Captain Ron Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 09-06-2001 12:06 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome