Change tuners on SZ320 - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-21-2004, 08:17 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 12
Change tuners on SZ320

Hi, i'm really happy with my SZ320, but want to change the tuners/machineheads.. Any tips? I'm thinking about Gotohs or Schallers, but i'm not sure whether the drilled holes will match exactly...
Thanks for any info!
soulnoize is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-21-2004, 10:06 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,215
Ibanez tuners have usually been made for them by Gotoh. Those might be the closest fit.

Are you thinking about going to locking tuners?
darren wilson is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-21-2004, 02:28 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 3,467
"The SZ series features string posts with uneven height, which insures proper tension balance."

I don't know if it really matters but your aftermarket tuners might not be the same.
I find the stock ones really smooth now that I replaced the nut. Maybe a new nut would be another option.
Rotti is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-24-2004, 05:46 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 12
Thanks. No i'm not thinking about locking tuners, but i do need a bit more tuning stability,especially when playing live in hot, smokey places.
Rotti, you replaced the nut, is there a big difference? What material did you use?
Thanks again
soulnoize is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-24-2004, 06:01 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 3,467
It's just a black plastic nut. But the original one was not cut well, the strings sat way inside the nut instead of just on the top of it. It use to grab the strings and made tuning difficult. Now with the new plastic nut it's very smooth. I could feel the difference when tuning right away.
Rotti is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-25-2004, 04:23 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 304
I'd always look at replacing the nut before putting new tuners in. Far more likely to improve matters - even cheap tuners should work ok with a decent nut.
dot-dot-dot is offline  
Reply

Tags
locking tuners

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ibanez rg350 pickup change, how much will the sound change nitrohead_zetta52 Pickups & wiring 12 02-29-2012 12:34 AM
NGD! SZ320 Hadeloc7 All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 7 07-07-2009 12:27 AM
Did the font size change of threadnames change? Reinder Forum Announcements and Member Help 38 05-05-2008 11:10 AM
sz320 JimmyW All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 4 12-18-2003 01:09 PM
Locking Tuners - to replace my gotoh tuners cowcowcow Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 8 01-15-2002 08:17 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome