Customizing my RG 350 DXZ - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-21-2015, 02:02 PM Thread Starter

Customizing my RG 350 DXZ

Hi there guys,

First at all I'm a newbie at guitar but not at music, so I really ask for patience in terms of technical talking.

My family gifted to me a Ibanez RG 350 DXZ with a VOX VT40 2 months ago and after playing I found a few annoying issues.

There are 3 topics that I want real information from experienced people to develop myself on the matter:

1st: Buzzing
I tryed to calibrate the guitar and got success with it but not at 100%.
This is not my real problem, so I will visit a luthier soon.

2nd: Floyd System
I have tune problems.
Sometimes when I use the Floyd and when I don't use the guitar for a few days too.

3rd: Pickups
I want to make a customization, I really want to hear something different than the INF pickups that comes with the guitar.

Questions:
1- Is there any posibility to to down the strings to 1mm distance or so from the frets without getting buzzing? This is the same question i'll ask to my luthier hehe but if you can help me I will appreciate it
2- I read a lot about the Edge Zero II tremolo and I think it's the reason of my tune problems. Is there any way to change it?
3- If I decide to change the tremolo system, what brand/model do you recomend and why? It needs ofc to be compatible with my guitar. I don't really want to make some changes on the body.
4- Talking about pickups, imo and ofc this is subjective, my best choise is [Gravity Storm (N) Area 67 (M) Steve's Special (B)] HSH combination. What do you think about it? Will this pickups be compatible with my guitar? Are they compatible between themselves?

Thanks a lot for reading and please make me know if I post on the wrong section or make some mistakes about the usage of the forum.