Dimarzio pickup wiring - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-06-2007, 04:14 PM Thread Starter

Dimarzio pickup wiring

I knoww thers probably a billion things about wiring pickups, but meh.. I dont care. So I bought these Dimarzio pickups off of Jemsites own spkenn5 ( thanks again btw), and now once I do actually buy tone and volume pots, and all that good junk I'll hook em up.
So... thing is I dont know how to hook them up, so I would gladly appreciate any feed back/tips/experiences, on how to do it. I'm a complete noob when it comes to this.
The pickups are
Dimarzio Tone Zone for the bridge
Dimarzio FS-1 for the middle
Dimarzio Paf Pro for the neck

going in an ibanez body, so I'll have a 5 way selector swich.

sooo yeah thats for the help (((:

ps: anyone selling any Ibanez electronics? already hooked up? so I wont have to do it lol
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-06-2007, 04:32 PM

Re: Dimarzio pickup wiring

Here's the best way to wire them up.

Get a soldering gun, some 60/40 rosin core solder, and connect the wires to the switch just like you see here.

When you connect the black wire from the FS-1 to the switch, and the red to ground, it reverses the polarity so that you won't get the hum in the 2 & 4 positions.

Great combo, I think you'll like it. It might be a little bit of a pain, and you might burn yourself a few times!
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-06-2007, 04:47 PM

Try here also:

http://www.ibanez.com/support/wiringdiagrams.aspx
post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-06-2007, 06:31 PM Thread Starter

thanks guys ! i think i can understand the first onee hah
post #5 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-06-2007, 07:16 PM Thread Starter

so what does it meen by "ground"
post #6 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-06-2007, 07:18 PM Thread Starter

and which pot is which? in the picture