Double Edge and MIDI - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 01-07-2004, 12:10 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 280
Double Edge and MIDI

I do not know if this has been discussed before but since the new RG1520GK came out (with the double edge providing a 13-pin midi connection) I was wondering if there is anyway that an RG2020X or RG2120X could be adapted to provide a 13-pin connection?
Soloist is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 01-09-2004, 09:21 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 363
i looked into this a while back. LR Baggs, who made the Double Edge saddles for Ibanez, does not make any piezo to midi components. RNC makes piezos and midi preamps for installation in a guitar [the Brian Moore guitars use their hardware], so i contacted them. they were not helpful at all, giving an arrogant sales pitch about how their piezos are highly superior [but of course they don't make a piezo saddle that will fit a locking trem]. when i pushed, they said the Baggs hardware is too weak and noisy to use with their midi preamps.

theoretically, there should be a way to get midi output from the Double Edge piezos, whether the Baggs is lower output or not. the fact that an Ibanez Double Edge model comes stock with a midi output [does that GK in the model # mean they used the Roland GK2 preamp system?] shows that it is possible. i looked at schematics of the GK2a, but i didn't have the stones to spend $300 on one and then cut it up to try and hack it into my Double Edge.

if you dig around and find anything more hopeful, please post it here.
Scott of Actual Time is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 01-09-2004, 02:41 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 280
Yeah, actually the RG1520GK has the Double Edge system exclusively for MIDI functions, that is why I figured I would bring it up as it seems that someone is making a MIDI preamp for Ibanez' Double Edge trem.

Check out this link:

http://www.ibanez.co.jp/world/guitar...g1520gkbk.html
Soloist is offline  
Reply

Tags
brian moore , double edge pro , double edge trem , edge trem

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edge ----> Double Edge swap Guitarmattms All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 2 01-10-2012 07:51 AM
Lo pro edge & Double Edge in tune problem Raffel Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 21 05-14-2004 09:59 AM
Double Edge - can you buy them? j i m All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 4 02-25-2002 12:13 AM
Dean MIDI/Piezo Chafin Sarasota.... - semi-hollow, double cu Getthis All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 4 02-20-2002 03:30 AM
Modding a 3120 and the double edge - I want to put a Double CDNICKCD Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 10 12-31-2001 01:17 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome