EDGE Locking studs - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 09-30-2017, 09:40 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 32
Reviews: 2
EDGE Locking studs

Hello fellas, haven't been here for a while but here I am with another question. How do locking studs work? I've googled everything I can and here is my problem. On my RG550 a luthier got rid of the locking studs mechanism cause it was broken, I mean all the threads were messed up due to previous owners abuse, so my studs are basically nonlocking. So recently I bought two locking studs from a guy for a low price he never used them and didn't need them. I'm not in a hurry to change them but heres a thing. When I put the allen wrench in the stud it kinda rotates freely and nothing happens. There are (Jeesus it is hard to explain) these little...you know the things that are supposed to go out of the bottom of the stud. But they don't move. So is it broken, or do I have to put it in the guitar in order to make these things move or did I just got scammed with some bull**** studs. So there they are on the picture and thanks in advance!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 22139877_10155328976937284_2066102821_o.jpg (34.2 KB, 23 views)
Asstaroth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 09-30-2017, 10:28 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Croatia
Posts: 503
Re: EDGE Locking studs

Your allen wrench size could be wrong .
peromucho7 is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 09-30-2017, 04:25 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 32
Reviews: 2
Re: EDGE Locking studs

No it's not that, I even tried a few other sizes just to make sure even tho I was pretty sure about the size at the start.

P.S. OK fellas, officially I'm a retard. peromucho7 had point it was just the smallest f-ing allen wrench, and I thought that it needed a bigger one. So yeah this could be even deleted.

Last edited by Asstaroth; 09-30-2017 at 04:33 PM.
Asstaroth is offline  
Reply

Tags
edge , locking studs

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does the edge zero come with locking studs? deathmetallist3 All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 1 05-26-2010 04:57 AM
Edge Zero locking studs surfdog777 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 08-29-2008 08:32 PM
Edge Locking studs help martyfriedman86 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 25 03-16-2008 01:02 PM
why can't the OFR use the Edge's locking studs? MetalWarrior Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 9 09-30-2006 10:29 PM
locking studs on an edge pro? champ222 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 02-13-2006 09:41 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome