Edge Pro - D string saddle - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-02-2011, 08:23 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 34
Question Edge Pro - D string saddle

I've been tweaking my RG1570 after my last string change and I noticed something that I would like to get confirmed.

From what I understand, the Edge Pro radius is factory set to 430mm. When looking at my Edge Pro, the D string saddle looks like its too low for some reason. When I look at the trem from behind, this is what I see:
  • the high E and low e are set the lowest
  • the D and B are the next lowest
  • the A and G are set the highest
Does anyone else have the same issue? Also, what can I do to change saddle height?

Thanks in advance!

dj
djem is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-02-2011, 09:06 PM
Vendor
 
Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 25,716
Re: Edge Pro - D string saddle

Check to make sure one of the lockdown screw washers isn't under a saddle.
Rich is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-03-2011, 09:00 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 34
Re: Edge Pro - D string saddle

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
Check to make sure one of the lockdown screw washers isn't under a saddle.
No washers wedged in there.

What concerns me is that I think that the D and G saddles should be set the highest as they are at the top of the radius, but my D saddle is ~ 1mm or so lower than the G. When you look at the strings from the low E side, the D string appears lower.

Am I messed up with this logic?
djem is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-03-2011, 10:42 PM
Vendor
 
Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 25,716
Re: Edge Pro - D string saddle

Most serious radius problems were typically on the eariest, 2003ish trems. All you can do is shim to radius.
Rich is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-18-2011, 11:33 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 12
Re: Edge Pro - D string saddle

Shim it.
shotgunn is offline  
Reply

Tags
edge pro

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edge III string saddle arrangment asolid Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 4 06-23-2012 11:04 PM
WTB: Ibanez edge/LP edge/edge pro saddle mounting screws Ratit Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 04-18-2009 08:16 PM
LO TRS STRING SADDLE!!!!!!!! #2 zzzec Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 12-06-2007 06:54 PM
Edge saddle _FR0D0 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 16 04-23-2003 04:44 PM
A saddle in the lo-pro edge rattles...? - Help, B string sad darthpolster Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 9 12-17-2002 05:09 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome