Edge Pro locking studs - Jemsite
Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods Guitar workbench discussion such as setup, repairs, mods, installing new parts and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-29-2013, 04:47 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 4
Edge Pro locking studs

Hello. I recently bought an Ibanez RG2550E, which is an incredible guitar and the best playing guitar I have ever played! However, after a setup it still will not stay 100% in tune with heavy use of the whammy, so I ordered the locking studs. I understand now that I completely misunderstood what the studs actually was (english is not my first language). The original Edge has locking studs, but cannot accept strings without the ball end cut off, so I was certain that after the mod the Edge Pro could not accept strings without the ball end cut off.
Can someone, in very simple words, explain to me what the difference between a locking and a non-locking stud is?

I also read somewhere, of course after I purchased the studs, that I have to shim the guitar to get the lowest possible action... I neither have the tools nor the capabilities to shim a guitar, and it will be very expensive to make a professional shim it.

Among many things, I also considered exchanging the Pro for an Original Edge or Lo-Pro, but I found the Pro to be the most ergonomic tremolo, and I will sure use palm-muting a lot more than whammy.
Alfi27 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-29-2013, 05:02 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,233
Reviews: 120
Re: Edge Pro locking studs

Locking studs in no way affect your ability to use the ball ends on an Edge Pro bridge. Your best bet is to click on the Ibanez Rules banner at the top of each page here, and go through the tech section. If you've got some screw drivers and the allen keys that would have come with your guitar you can set it up.
LonePhantom is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-29-2013, 05:56 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 4
Re: Edge Pro locking studs

Hello, and thank you for your answer. I have gone through the tech-section, and I changed strings and set it up yesterday. I removed the tremolo, lubricated the knife edges and checked the tremolo for any faults. I could not see anything wrong, and I adjusted everything (except the intonation and truss rod) to be just like the manual and Ibanezrules.com tell me.

I don't want to know how to set it up, I want to know more about the locking studs
Alfi27 is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-29-2013, 06:34 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,233
Reviews: 120
Re: Edge Pro locking studs

Clearly you didn't read everything in there properly!
http://www.ibanezrules.com/tech/setup/stud_mod_03.htm
LonePhantom is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-07-2013, 04:32 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 4
Re: Edge Pro locking studs

Alright, now I have received the locking studs and installed them (no problems with the action) as well as 3 new and shorter (tighter) springs. The tremolo angle is 100% paralell to the body, the studs are locked and the knife edges are lubed. Despite logical thinking, the guitar is now LESS stable than before I installed the new springs and the locking studs...
I have followed every official and unofficial rule in the book, but the guitar just won't stay in tune! My closest guitar tech had even less knowledge about such tremolo systems, so he could just intonate the guitar.
What should I do?
Alfi27 is offline  
Reply

Tags
edge pro , locking studs , tuning problems

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Locking Studs on Edge Pro's ChrisPcritter Comments to Ibanez 12 01-14-2009 06:31 AM
Edge Zero locking studs surfdog777 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 08-29-2008 08:32 PM
Edge Locking studs help martyfriedman86 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 25 03-16-2008 01:02 PM
why can't the OFR use the Edge's locking studs? MetalWarrior Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 9 09-30-2006 10:29 PM
locking studs on an edge pro? champ222 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 02-13-2006 09:41 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome